Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2005, 10:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
Owwww HELP !!

Ok so I swapped out the stand for the tank and a bunch of other stuff today and now I'm getting ZAPPED.... it's wierd though ... only on one had... the one with my wedding ring (I'm guessing that's why)... anyway the fish and corals seem to be doing just fine.... but I need help

1. It's going to be almost impossible to figure out what it is, so can I fix it with a simple grounding rod thingy???


2. Will it hurt the fish if I can't fix this until tommorow or later ???
__________________

__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
weird. Broken heater in the move??? Perhaps a pump seal failed or a wire is pinched.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
Ok.... found the source... not as hard as I thought...... it was one of my PH's .... any ideas on a fix for it or should I just pitch it ????
__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
FYI if anyone has this problem in the future... just use a test light.... I've got a sweet one from craftsmen that I'm sure only cost me a few bucks and it picks up the zzzap from a couple inches away from the water....

Just unplugged one by one until it stopped beeping.....
__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
You may want to just get a new one (thatpetplace.com has good prices) and if you can fix it later, use it as a backup or for mixing salt.

Jim
__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 658
true...... I don't think it's really worth the trouble.... but that test light was worth it's weight in gold...
__________________
c0mf0rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 12:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
IMO, it is too risky to try and fix it. It may void the warrenty if it has one or cause bigger problems. Take it back and see if the LFS will exchange it, otherwise, contact the company and see if they can replace it for you.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
please pick up a GFCI from the hardware store for your safety. then, you can't get shocked at all.
__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 05:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
please pick up a GFCI from the hardware store for your safety. then, you can't get shocked at all.
I was thinking about that too. Would a GFCI kick out b/c of a problem like this?
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 05:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
The GFCI should shut it down as soon the problem is detected.
For added safety, I use a grounding probe in my tank. Some think they are not worth it, but until I get zapped, it stays.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.