Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-26-2012, 11:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

pc bulbs

I recently picked up a 48in coralife power compact light for my 55 fowlr I'm setting up. Got it for a steal. $16 can't beat it. If I ever make the jump to reef would this suffice any kind of inverts and if so what kind? It runs 2 65w 50/50 lights.

Old 01-27-2012, 10:52 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Not sure how many corals you could keep under that light, I usually see the four bulb PC fixtures. I would say you could try zooanthids and maybe some leather corals. Inverts like hermits and the such don't even need light so youre ok there.

Old 01-27-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

I'm a noob carey but I'm not that big of a noob. Lol. I know hermits and snails and what not don't require any light.. and I kinda thought zoos and leathers would be the safest bet. And you just reenforced my ideas. Lol. I can't thank you enough for all your help and advice. Gimme a month and your going to be proud of my pics I upload. I got the 55 starting its cycle today and my 25 is due for its second rodi pwc.
Old 01-27-2012, 11:09 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Nice! Looking forward to seeing what you have going on.

I just threw that comment about the hermits in, sometimes the people that read these forums dont' know.
Old 01-27-2012, 12:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist