Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-06-2007, 07:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
PC to T-5 Question

I have a PC fixture. and like all PC lights, mine have lost there intensity and are causing lots of algae.

What i want to do is take out the PC bulbs (which ive already done) and put in some T-5. would this be possible, or even safe? The prongs on the bulbs look alike, but i want to be sure. I really like my fixture, and dont want to have to buy a new one.

beano1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 08:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
I would say no . You could retro but I would not try to fit a round peg to a square hole so to speak . I am not an electrician but you could be setting yourself up for a a very serious situation , such as fire or shorting out and causing an electrocution situation . Not worth it in my opinion , it is cheeper and safer to either retro or by a diffrent unit made for T5s

Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
I would just replace the CF bulbs with new CF bulbs...especially if you are happy with your fixture.
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:56 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

The easiest thing to do is just the replace the PC bulbs every 7 - 9 months. You could dump the PC fixture and buy a new T5 fixture (correct reflector, ballast, holders, etc.), or buy a MH/T5 combo fixture so you don't have to this again in a year.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 01:21 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles