PC's good enough??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ntswift

Aquarium Advice FINatic
i was wondering what kind of corals I could have with 130w PC's in my 29 gal? I'm a beginner so if you have any suggestions on the best kind to get that would be awesome! TIA

You should be OK on just about any of them. That`s over 4 watts per gallon. But someone said that watts per gallon is old school so maybe there`s a new formula out there

Here's a list of the corals I've got in my 29 gallon, under 130watts PC lighting:

Hammer
galaxia
Green richordia
feather duster
Open maze brain
orange sand polyps
green zoa's
green star polyps
Red mushrooms
Green favia (moon coral)
neon green claustrea
claustrea
red lobo
Pulsing xenia
tooth coral
Pink zoa's
mint green zoa's

All doing well.

Yea, i agree with those guys. 130W is good enuf for 29G to keep any corals and anemones. One thing is i don't think u'll be able to keep clams

Thanks guys for the help. i went out and got some hammer coral and plate coral and another kind that i dont remember what it was called. its orange and looks like little volcano crevices. Its really cool, but thanks again!

Love the question!!! I'm currently in the market for a 2X65 watt PC setup for my 29gal. myself!

What lights did you go with?

i went with the jbj's. They are awesome! Just make sure you buy the stand with it because I didn't and ended up bumping my lights into my tank twice before i finally got the stands. :( They are well worth the money though! HTH

what kind of corals I could have with 130w PC's in my 29 gal?
Most softies, LPS, and lower light anemones ie. bubble-tip, will be fine. Stay away from high light corals such as Maxima and Crocea clams, and most SPS's. Also remeber anemones require mature, stable tanks of at least 6 months age.