Pet shop (LFS)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Omega

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi there,

It is my first time here and I hope im posting in the right place to ask for some help.

I am planning on opening a LFS here in South Africa!! I have had a couple of SW setups in my little life so I would see myself as experienced. The only thing is I want to run one big system in the shop maybe allot of small tanks with one big sump to keep the live stock and stuff like that. So I am calling upon my fellow hobbyist's to help me out here to build the best, cleanest LFS system in this world to make this hobby fun for everyone and keep the fish healthy for the customers.

Please Any comments are welcome from cleaning the floors (lol) to using bare bottom tanks or sand or anything you can think of that has put you down in the past or would like in a shop.

Thanks in Advance

The store I work for has four main systems. One for freshwater cold, freshwater tropical, marine fish only, and an invert system. Each tank has a drain screen and are those part of the same system are attached together through pvc piping. The piping is done in a way so that gravity carries the water from the tanks to the sumps in the back. Each sump is fitted with a large powerful pump the return water. The water is first filtered through a micron bag and there are all sorts of other equipment attached to the marine systems.