Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2005, 10:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 80
PH Help!

Ok heres the problem. Last week My PH was low and after a few days go it back to the 8.4 as usuall, today I checked it and it was as 7.6> it dropped that quick. Any help, Ideas why? Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
thor32766 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jackson NJ
Posts: 77
Do you have a lot of space between the top of your water line and the top of the tank? Sometimes too much headspace (or tight fitting glass tops) will cause CO2 to "pool" on top of the water. Since it's heavier then air it can't escape the tank. This blanket of CO2 can cause your pH and Alk to crash.
__________________

__________________
"Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I apologize if my last remarks sounded condescending . . . that means when you talk down to people."
--------------------------------
120g RR, 65g HOB and 10g sump, 150g frag tank, 100g sump. Highlights of live stock: Golden Moray eel, 2 purple tangs, 2 yellow tangs, 1 large copperband, 4 GSM's, dragon wrasse, barnacle blenny, 2 pajama cards, 3 green chromis and a dynamic assortment of soft & LPS corals.
JohnS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 10:54 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 80
i would say i have about 6 inches or so from waterline to the lights.
__________________
thor32766 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 01:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jackson NJ
Posts: 77
Do you have a fan in your canopy (assuming that you have one)? If it's 6 inches from the top of the water line to the top rim of the aquarium, you may want to think about getting a fan to help move the CO2 out of the tank.

I'm not certain this your problem, but it was one I had with my sump. I hooked up a fan that just blows across the water surface and my alk and pH have been stable since
__________________
"Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I apologize if my last remarks sounded condescending . . . that means when you talk down to people."
--------------------------------
120g RR, 65g HOB and 10g sump, 150g frag tank, 100g sump. Highlights of live stock: Golden Moray eel, 2 purple tangs, 2 yellow tangs, 1 large copperband, 4 GSM's, dragon wrasse, barnacle blenny, 2 pajama cards, 3 green chromis and a dynamic assortment of soft & LPS corals.
JohnS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2005, 11:02 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Do you have a glass top. Make sure you have some good surface agitation
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 11:50 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 80
no dont have a glass top. I have a power head close to the top of the water. Hope i can find a resolution soon.

thanks again
__________________
thor32766 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:08 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
What substrate are you using? How old is the tank? Do you use a buffer? Do you use ro\di water or tap?

If you have to adjust the pH in your tank, always consider the carbonate hardness. The pH in harder water is difficult to adjust because it bounces back, while softer water is more easily adjusted. Keep in mind to change it slowly as it causes a lot of stress to your fish.

Good article on maintaining pH.
http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/pha...a/aa061301.htm
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 10:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 80
my tank is about 6 months old. yes I am using tap water to fill. The buffer I am using is the Seachem PH buffer. Without buying a RO is there any other alternative for water. Stuff at the grocery store or chemicals. I am going to setup a fan tonight to see if it helps. Any other info guys dont hesistate to mention.
__________________

__________________
thor32766 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ph help

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.