Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2011, 03:43 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
when are you doing the test? I think that ph will drop at night and go back up during the day
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:25 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian_Troy
Beat you to that, I have some un cured rock, and i took a cured rock out of my tank, I've tried them in salt and RO water, cured rock in both doesn't change the pH, I replace it with uncured rock and the pH shoots through the roof (way up to nearly 13!) So its not the rock, I'm really confused by the pH, It's my first tank and with my budget I can't afford to just rip it all out and start again, besides I've waited sooooo long for my tank and it's only just coming to fruition!
If nobody knows why its doing this perhaps some tips to try and keep it in check? Also the pH is really stable, surprisingly barely swings around at all...
You can't have dKH of 14 *and* low pH without some very strange circumstances to cause excess CO2 buildup - extremely unlikely.

Honestly I'd suspect you test kit(s) - check the expiration dates and/or double check your results with another kit (friend or LFS).

-Matt
__________________

__________________
mcarroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 04:30 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
What brand salt are you using, and what salinity are you keeping it at. What brand/type of pH test kit are you using.

Sometimes the easiest answer is the winner, and in this case it could just be a bad test kit and your pH is really where it should be.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 38
Well I've used two types of newly bought dip sticks, however I think they're crap and am going to buy a liquid test set tomorrow, also my hermit and snail are acting funny so if not the pH then something is wrong. What really bugs me is that both different brands of dip tests gave me the same results, and I can't understand how I have a good dKH and a bad pH, just done another test and while it should be at it's highest just before lights out it has dipped since I dosed some kalk this morning, down to 7.5, I'm practically eating my nails at this end, I'm worried it's all gonna end in catastrophic failure and I can't for my life figure out why :@

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Sebastian_Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:19 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 38
I've just had a thought, my DIY rocks are incredibly porous, which is why my nitrates are so low and were before my skimmer, could it be that the sheer number of bacteria, or life, in the rocks are driving up CO2? Or is that a bit far fetched?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Sebastian_Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:49 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
I would be willing to bet that your tests are not accurate. let us know after you retest with a liquid kit.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:17 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian_Troy View Post
I've just had a thought, my DIY rocks are incredibly porous, which is why my nitrates are so low and were before my skimmer, could it be that the sheer number of bacteria, or life, in the rocks are driving up CO2? Or is that a bit far fetched?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
That's not impossible, but quite unlikely.

If you're running a skimmer especially - CO2 buildup while a skimmer is running would indicate your house air (or at least the air in the room in question) is over-saturated with CO2.

While unlikely in the extreme, this would be somewhat more likely in a new home or in a basement - insulation is so good (or air-circulation so bad) sometimes that air-exchange with the outside/other rooms suffers. If this is the case, running the air-intake line from your skimmer out a window should make a difference. Again, this would be a very unlikely scenario.

-Matt
__________________
mcarroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 05:49 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 38
I live in a 400 year old house in an upstairs room, the only reason the house wasn't blown down in the hurricane was because the wind blew through the house, it even moved some of the furniture inside the house, plus I sleep with a window open every night,

As for the skimmer I have only started using it recently, as I didn't need to run it before and it hasn't been running long enough to really cut back the number of bacteria in the tank, it's a shame because my sponge was doing so well!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Sebastian_Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:04 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson
What brand salt are you using, and what salinity are you keeping it at. What brand/type of pH test kit are you using.

Sometimes the easiest answer is the winner, and in this case it could just be a bad test kit and your pH is really where it should be.
I'm using red sea salt, I have a salinity of about 1.025

Coraline algae isn't growing and hermit crab is acting up, so there must be something wrong with the pH even if two brands of test kit are both wrong in the same way,
But they are dip stick tests and hence they are rubbish, I'm gonna get liquid ones today

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
Sebastian_Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 06:53 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 38
Well I went away for two weeks and disaster the tank leaked a little and my
Dads answer was to unplug everything, no water movement, heater, light, skimmer.... Anyway the pH was at 7 and I only have a snail left, pretty much everything else is dead, since I re established life support to the tank the pH has risen slightly, but still not right according to my seachem pH test, honestly I'm thinking of draining sterilising and starting from scratch, I've waited so long for this tank I may as well wait a little longer for it to work well instead of having this mess to contend with
__________________

__________________
Sebastian_Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PH dropping BrianGray Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 6 08-25-2010 10:35 PM
just dropping by to say... hollywoodheidi Member Introductions 4 10-21-2007 10:45 PM
just dropping by to say... hollywoodheidi Member Introductions 8 10-20-2007 10:31 PM
I have not been dropping by too much lately but... DragonForce Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 01-25-2006 09:21 PM
Why is my Kh dropping? fastfly48 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 12-08-2005 12:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.