Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-16-2003, 02:47 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
PH of water, Agrocrete

Hello all,

I am currently using tap water for my tanks. I have used tap water for my FO tank for the previous 9+ years and saw no ill effects except algae growth. My reason for the question is due to a batch of Agrocrete rocks we made about 1.5 month ago. We made the rock and it has been sitting in water and getting fresh water every day. From what I have read, you had to wait until the PH of the water came down since the portland cement will leach PH a bit.

I use a Aquarium Ph. test kit and my tap water tests between 8.2 and 8.6, usually on the high end - color is more blue than green. The water in the agrocrete container always tests between 8.6 and 9.0 - color is aways blue. Anyone have any experience with this? Also we want to try corals and such, will higher PH pose problems with this? We have snails,hermits and a CBS that as molted once in the tank right now and they are doing fine.
__________________

__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:03 PM   #2
BTA
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chandler
Posts: 39
About the DIY rock, some say you gotta wait around 6 weeks, others say you gotta wait at least 12-15 weeks for the pH to settle. All I can say is, as you might already know, pH grows exponentially and not linear... If an 8.1 has 100 parts of acidity, and 8.2 will have a 1,000, and 8.3 will have 1,000,000. I really don't think you fish and specially the corals you're planning to add will survive a 9.0 pH. Just give a few more weeks for it to settle. You know what they say... in an aquarium, only bad things happen fast.

__________________

__________________
BTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:19 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
My tap water tests at 8.6 and the reading I just got from my tank was that or higher. Could be wrong time of day but not sure.

Thanks
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:28 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I think you shoudl try another PH test kit... Aquarium Pharmaceuticals is not a very accurate test system IME.. in some cases mine were a full point off...JME

Might want to try SeaChem or Salifert...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:32 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Thanks, I will do that. The tests seem to be ok but I can never get my Ph to come out right.

Thanks
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals is not that great? Great, I just purchased their kit. :P
__________________
RodneyCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:47 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals is not that great? Great, I just purchased their kit.
I am not saying it is terrible, I bought 1 of their kits for PH a while back and it was off by a point to Salifert... I contacted AP and they sent me a new kit and it also tested off by a point.. Always showed the PH being higher than it really was.. when you test your water at 9.4 or so, it tends to freak you out... So from now on, no more AP for me.... This was just my experience....
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 09:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
I just tested my PH levels and it read an 8.2, which I think is normal. I hope it is accurate. LOL.

Thanks
__________________
RodneyCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 11:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
I like the pH test kit from Seachem. It is quick accurate and also comes with a good alkalinity test. I think you find it for around 9 or 10 bucks. I would shoot for a pH of 8.4 at the highest. At higher pH any ammonia present will be more toxic. For FO tanks the pH is not nearly as crucial as for a reef tank. High and low pH values affect calcium and carbonate solubility as well as coral growth rates. One question to be asking is what in your tap water is causing the pH to be high? It could be caused by excess chemicals that you don't want in a reef tank. Invertebrates are much more sensitive to chemical contaminants than fish. You may want to look into a RO unit or look around for a store that sells RO water from one of those machines.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 04:48 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I revived this thread just to state that the agrocrete I mabe in Oct. is still leaching. If I let the water sit for 2 days, it reads PH 8.8 - 9.0.

Thinking about just throwing the stuff out. My wife hates having the stuff sitting around. I have about 40 lbs of portland cement to dispose of too

Anyone made this rock with good results?
__________________

__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
agrocrete

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
8 torch corals on a agrocrete circle, pics.. need help popothemailman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 09-15-2005 02:10 AM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM
Agrocrete or Cement Rocks Cunch Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 02-10-2004 08:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.