Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-13-2004, 11:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 154
ph probe and temp

could someone explain to me the correction that needs to be made for temp when using a probe for ph? my current reading on my brand new calibrated probe is 8.65 at 81f. what is my actual reading?
__________________

__________________
lilismom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 11:17 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
hmmm, my guess woul be 8.65, if it was calibrated correctly and the batteries don't need replacing. Most all units are ATC.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I would have to agree, what unit did you purchase? I just got a pinpoint pH monitor and the temp does not affect the pH readings.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 10:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I'll 3rd this. I have one and it does fine as long as the battery doesn't get low. Once the battery gets low I start getting some funky readings.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fort lauderdale, fl
Posts: 154
that's the one i have. i bought a whole new unit because my old one was giving me some funky readings 4 months after purchasing probe #2. what sparked the question was that the calibration fluid that came with the unit has a correction table on the back. not to mention that my ph is at 8.75 right now, and i'm not doing anything differently. i've always had to fight to keep it up with powerheads etc. i'm going to pull it out and make sure it's still calibrated correctly and test my ca and alk.
__________________
lilismom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snails: Max temp? Min temp? Fromthelbc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-29-2009 10:03 PM
temp probe location? m.parker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-20-2007 10:11 AM
pH probe RMPD109 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 01-17-2005 10:45 PM
inline temp probe justDIY DIY Projects 13 01-13-2004 12:13 AM
pH Probe astride13 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-03-2003 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.