Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-05-2007, 10:51 AM   #11
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree that going without the glass cover and more surface aggitation will be a big push in the right direction. Also a PWC will help also with buffering your water.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 11:12 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 66
What is your alkalinity?

Those products that raise your pH are really just temporary fixes. In reality, they are alkalinity supplements for tanks with low pH. I would steer clear unless you have an alkalinity problem.
__________________

__________________
rubikcube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 05:51 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i dont have an alkalinity tester.... but i havent added anything to the water besides the salt.

its almost 7:00 so i re-tested pH and it is still at 7.8!!!!!! why is this so discouraging!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! help plzzz

[img]pH.jpg[/img]
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 10:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 66
I would get an alkalinity test. This could definitely be the source of your problem.
__________________
rubikcube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 01:55 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Is the tank cycled? If so how, when, and what is your ammonia source since there is nothing in it? What is the turnover of the tank (GPH)?
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:12 AM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My tank has not been cycled yet, but do you need it to be cycled to test your pH reading? I am NOO expert at what im doing. Right now it is turned over twice an hour. I purchased four more powerheads aand will add three of them to the tank.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:22 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
During your cycle pH will swing. I wouldn't worry about it right now. Once your cycle is complete, recheck and we can go from there.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:43 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I agree. pH isn't reliable during a cycle and usually tests lower, wait until your cycle is done before you test again.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 04:01 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Since nothing is in the tank and it has not cycled the PH should be fine. However w/ two times and hour turnover it's no surprise it's not. You need to increase that by 5x to be at the minimum of whats recommended for SW/reefs. Increasing the turnover will allow gas exchange between the tank and the air in the room. Lack of gas exchange leads to excessive amounts of CO2 accumulating in the water. That drives PH down. Increase the flow, then cycle, then monitor PH. As said PH will be low during the cycle due to the amount of acids being produced.
Quote:
I purchased four more powerheads aand will add three of them to the tank.
Good. Point one or two so that they disturb the surface of the water. Surface agitation allows for better gas exchange.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:52 PM   #20
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
so i dont need to worry about pH until im going to add fish?

will low pH hurt liverock im going to purchase?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pH problem Everlasting Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 03-10-2009 12:00 AM
What is the problem here? longliveglam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 31 10-06-2008 11:48 PM
Problem.... crono_vivi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-18-2005 06:33 PM
problem? or not a problem? that is the question sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-30-2005 12:19 AM
Problem? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-22-2003 04:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.