Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2007, 06:39 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
pH problem

today was the first time ive tested for pH in my life! I think i did everything right, but is looked like i have a pH of 7.4 instead of 8.2 , Im not sure if I matched the color of the water with the color on the card. There are not that much different. Give me your advice on what you think I should do.

thanks
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:51 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
What is your SG? Do you have your tank covered? We need a bit more info. I would suggest testing it again and if you get the same results get a different kind of test kit and test it again. How long has this tank been up? What all do you have in the tank right now?
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 07:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
A LFS may be willing to test a water sample for you if your having problems w/ your test kit.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 07:50 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the sg is between 1.024 and 1.025. as of now the tank is covered but that can easily be changed. temp at 82 degrees. the tank has been up for about two months but has sat just with fresh water the first month. In the tank there is 16 lbs base rock 20 lbs live sand 90 lbs aragonite sand, 1 powerhead 110GPH, 150W heater, and hydrometer. have not retested water yet.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 09:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
what size tank is it? It seems to me like you do not have anywhere near enough lr if you have a 55 gal.
__________________
Rambo64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 09:38 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
as of now i have no "live" rock but i am in the process of purchasing it. will this have an effect of pH?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 11:17 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Try taking the cover off of your tank for a day, then test the pH. You might find it higher. Closed systems tend to trap CO2 and not allow for enough O2 exchange, which will cause pH to go down.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:02 AM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have the covers off now and will test again tomorrow. If this does not work would you reccomend that i add "proper pH 8.2", or will that mess up my tank down the road?
Does the addition of live rock help maintain a pH of 8.2?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:18 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I personally don't like adding things to my tank other then salt mix and water. With the tank uncovered you should see your PH go up. It may be lower then 8.2-8.4 for a while but it will stablize as your tank matures. I would have a power head agitate the surface of the water a bit and that will help with the O2 exchange.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 10:25 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, keep the lid off and point a ph toward the surface, for more ripple. Also, keep in mind pH will swing between lighs off/on, so test around the same time to get a more consistant reading.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pH problem Everlasting Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 03-10-2009 12:00 AM
What is the problem here? longliveglam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 31 10-06-2008 11:48 PM
Problem.... crono_vivi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-18-2005 06:33 PM
problem? or not a problem? that is the question sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-30-2005 12:19 AM
Problem? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-22-2003 04:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.