Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-09-2013, 10:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Phosban ?

I'm running purigen in my 150. Can I run somwthing else as well to remove phosphates?
__________________

__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:27 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,537
Purigen doesn't directly remove phosphates. In my dual reactor, I run purigen and high efficiency Gfo, as the Gfo will bind with the phosphates.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
I know purigen doesn't remove phosphates that's why I asked if I could run something in addition...
__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Do you mean your 150 reactor? If you want to run both in a reactor it will be less than optimal but it works. I see 2 issues: flow rates & regeneration. If imagine though that Purigen & GFO both need slow flow rates which might not be too bad. Purigen is easily renewed with bleach, with GFO in there you couldn't do that anymore.

If you mean running them separately, but at the same time, go for it. Start small with the GFO (1/2 recommended dose) and work up as you can shock any coral by dropping phosphates too quickly.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 11:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Yeah mixing two items in one reactor. I guess I'll remove the purigen and add something to remove these phosphates so I can get this hair algae GONE!!
__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 03:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jcj0033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 234
I fun carbon and phosguard it works it works great it will get rid of ALL phosphates
__________________
Jcj0033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Some people do run both, the problem is the require to different flow rates. GAC can't tumble because it breaks up to easy. GFO needs to tumble at a slight boil to work correctly and not clog. The other issue is if you have phosphates the GFO can be used up in a week and should be replaced atleast every 2 weeks if you are trying to lower phosphates. The carbon only needs to be replaced every 3 weeks. After 3 weeks bacteria can grow in the carbon and when you change it out it can shock the tank. So its really best to run them in different reactors for effeciency and expense.
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.