Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-25-2011, 10:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 200
Phosban Reactor 150 and Rowaphos question.

Hey guys, about 12-13 hours ago I added a Two Little Fishes Phosban Reactor 150 to my system and added Rowaphos to it.

My tank is new, and before adding the reactor, the tank was at .6 phosphate. I just tested the output of the reactor, and it's still at .25, what is this indicating? Do I not have enough rowaphos in it? Do I not have enough flow going through it?

The edges of the rowaphos around the reactor are constantly, lightly bubbling up. I have just over 1 inch of rowaphos in there currently, and my tank is 36 X 18 X 18.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
50 Gallon Mixed Reef:
Midas Blenny, Scooter Dragonet, 2 Oscellaris Clowns.
matthewh133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 09:16 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
So you are saying in 12 hrs your phosphate dropped from .60 to .25? I would say it's working as expected. You will know the GFO is exhausted when the phospahte starts to rise again.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 200
Quick update.

It's now been over a week since adding the reactor. I have changed rowaphos media twice, but I can't get my phophate below about .15.

The lowest I measured with my hanna checker from the output tube of the reactor was .08 at one stage. Since then, it's staying at around .14 and I can't seem to get it any lower?

Is it possible I'm doing something wrong? What else could be causing this?

Thanks guys.
__________________
50 Gallon Mixed Reef:
Midas Blenny, Scooter Dragonet, 2 Oscellaris Clowns.
matthewh133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
How much are you using (tablespoons) in the reactor? You should start with 1 tablespoon/4 gal of water. For a 50g tank you should start with about 12 tablespoons and then you can up that to 24 tablespoons once the system is used to running at a low phosphate level.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt
How much are you using (tablespoons) in the reactor? You should start with 1 tablespoon/4 gal of water. For a 50g tank you should start with about 12 tablespoons and then you can up that to 24 tablespoons once the system is used to running at a low phosphate level.
I use one of these with the bio pellets and have 0 nitrates 0 phosphates
__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.