Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2011, 01:12 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
The price seems reasonable, it just depends on if you want to run one. If you have phosphates and can afford it that could help your issue. Or you caould save the 60$ and try to do it yourself. I know in my future I will be getting a reactor, not just for GFO but for carbon as well.

It's really your call.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:24 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Pizza101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 153
Thanks! I have noticed most of the best looking and successful tanks I have seen run GFO and a carbon so I guess it's worth the few bucks I'll spend and maybe get this problem fixed for good. I guess the general consensus I'm getting is it couldn't hurt so why not thanks everybody for all your help!
__________________

__________________
Pizza101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 07:28 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
You can get phosphates from the liquid they freeze the food in!
That's definately true. Here's a test I did some time ago:

16oz container of RO/DI water (TDS 0ppm, phosphate 0.00ppm):


A single cube of frozen mysis shrimp added to this RO/DI water and thaws:


10 minutes later I test a water sample from the cup using a phosphate photometer (result displayed as mg/L or ppm). Phosphate contained in the frozen food has leached out while thawing in the RO/DI water:


Fortunately, were this cube added directly into the tank without rinsing, the phosphate is diluted down by the water volume of the tank (but is still available for nuisance algae & cyano utilization), but feeding is a recurring event.

I've also had PO4 readings when doing a similar test with flake and pellets.
__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:04 PM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
What was the reading after thawing? And about how much water is that - in ounces I presume?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:37 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
The reading was taken about 10min after dropping the frozen cube of mysis into the RO/DI water.

It's a 16-oz container but it wasn't completely filled (maybe an inch from the top).
__________________

__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phosban reactor 150 help Jereli General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 07-04-2011 05:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.