Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2014, 07:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rpbustillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 538
Phosguard vs GFO

Which one do you guys prefer over the other and why?
__________________

__________________
Rpbustillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I use Phosguard because it doesn't require a reactor to operate (which is a big deal since my tank is a nano).
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 11:44 AM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
After running GFO for some time I switched over to Phosguard. I like the phosguard better since it is easier to run. GFO needs to run 'at a small boil' to be effective and in high calcium environments quickly turns into a solid cake, where it is no longer effective.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rpbustillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
After running GFO for some time I switched over to Phosguard. I like the phosguard better since it is easier to run. GFO needs to run 'at a small boil' to be effective and in high calcium environments quickly turns into a solid cake, where it is no longer effective.

Do you use yours in a reactor? I have GFO now, first time it the tank it covered everything in a dust and now it has turned into a brick :/
__________________
Rpbustillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:38 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
I run a reactor.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rpbustillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
I run a reactor.

Thanks for replying, do you have any problems with your zoas running the phosgaurd? I've read few things about some people having issues.
__________________
Rpbustillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:34 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
Zoas are fine.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
amonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 41
I run my GFO in a reactor. I mKe sure to run a couple gallons through it into a bucket to make sure all the fines are out. So far no problems and only minor algae outbreaks when I slack off on water changes and replacing the GFO.

And yes you have to adjust the flow on the reactor so the GFO barely but constantly moves. I find it was east to adjust it while I am letting it rinse the fines out.

There is a good video on the brs site showing how to do this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
amonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 06:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rpbustillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by amonk View Post
I run my GFO in a reactor. I mKe sure to run a couple gallons through it into a bucket to make sure all the fines are out. So far no problems and only minor algae outbreaks when I slack off on water changes and replacing the GFO.

And yes you have to adjust the flow on the reactor so the GFO barely but constantly moves. I find it was east to adjust it while I am letting it rinse the fines out.

There is a good video on the brs site showing how to do this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It's not algae issues in the DT I'm trying to take care of, it's just trying to help my sps out as much as possible. I have the reactor tuned pretty well, I'm going to try and run a little more media this time to see if it helps my issues.
__________________
Rpbustillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Iceman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 165
Phosguard vs GFO

I prefer GFO. For me I saw a difference almost overnight. I picked up phosguard and never saw a difference. So I dumped it and went back to GFO. Btw I'm even using generic eBay GFO. It works amazing. I use it in a reactor BTW.
__________________

__________________
Iceman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
75g Reef, Which Canister? Big Tex Saltwater Reef Aquaria 70 09-14-2013 12:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.