Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2016, 01:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 163
Phosphate in rodi water

Hey everyone I am closely monitoring my water paremeters adding my first ever coral. I am having a slight phosphate issue that is causing a roadblock. Phosphate levels are at .25 prior to running phosban. Trying to trace where they are coming from I tested my pure rodi water that is in my storage container in salted and I am measuring it at .25 and it stays at that level after adding my reef crystals. I am using a ro buddy system with a new di filter and about 90 gallons through the other membranes. and no I do not have a tds meter yet. I will pick one up this week. But my main question is in my storage. I am storing my water in a Rubbermaid roughneck garbage can could this possibly be the issue? Or can my levels be that high prior to filtering?
__________________

__________________
ronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 01:14 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,545
If there are phosphates in the water coming out of the system you have a problem. You want to have 0 TDS and if there are phosphates then it isn't at 0. If the containers are rated for being OK for drinkable water...I think it is a 2...then it shouldn't be leaking anything into the water.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 04:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I read this;

You cannot accurately test phosphates in ultrapure water. Trust a good handheld TDS meter such as the HM Digital COM-100 which is 10x more sensitive than most meters are extremely accurate at low ranges. Hobbyist grade test kits and meters will not be accurate. While phosphates are weakly ionized they will register on a good low range TDS meter.

Ask your water utility if they are adding phosphates as a form of corrosion control in the distribution system, if so keep up with your DI replacements.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, phosphate, rodi, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphate vs. bicarbonate pH buffer - RODI water Pylor Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 02-25-2014 10:58 PM
Water Storage for my RODI water callmeq Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 06-25-2012 11:22 PM
Tap Water or RODI water? KatrinaV Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-13-2010 05:10 PM
nitrates in rodi water ckmn101 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-11-2007 08:29 PM
Can you drink RODI water? degbowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-07-2006 10:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.