Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-14-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
spontuzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 47
phosphate reactor

I'm looking for a phosphate reactor for a 48g tank. I don't want to spend a lot, but I don't want a piece of crap either. Suggestions appreciated.
__________________

__________________
spontuzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
If you feel you must run one heres a great product

BRS GFO and Carbon Reactor - English
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
spontuzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
If you feel you must run one heres a great product

BRS GFO and Carbon Reactor - English
Thanks you Carey
__________________
spontuzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:56 AM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I used a ViaAqua Poly Reactor for years and it worked great.
Aquarium Chemical Filter Media Reactor: ViaAqua Poly-Reactor Multi-Media Reactor
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
theres nothing to a GFO reactor, you can diy one out of a water bottle a tiny utility pum and some hose
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 02:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
I use a via aqua 20/20. comes with the pump and everything you need right out the box. Just buy your choice of gfo
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:02 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Hookedbyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6
ViaAqua has worked fine for me until I upgraded to the NEXT Reef reactor.
__________________
Hookedbyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:30 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
I use Two Little Fishes Phosban Reactor 550....Works a treat, although easy to make a DIY Reactor...it's definitely worth the money to invest in a purpose built unit, you won't come home to a disaster, maybe just use a stocking with media in it till you can afford the one you really want. Don't take short cuts as you will lose money in the long run.... I have learnt this the hard way!
__________________
KwakaZX12R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
spontuzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by KwakaZX12R
I use Two Little Fishes Phosban Reactor 550....Works a treat, although easy to make a DIY Reactor...it's definitely worth the money to invest in a purpose built unit, you won't come home to a disaster, maybe just use a stocking with media in it till you can afford the one you really want. Don't take short cuts as you will lose money in the long run.... I have learnt this the hard way!
I agree, thanks for the feedback.
__________________
spontuzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 01:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,324
I use phosguard in a $3 mesh bad in my spillway whenever I detect a spike. Works fine for me as long as it's in a high flow area and one less piece of plumbing to go wrong.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphate, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nitrate reactor worth it? huma-huma General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-23-2011 03:18 AM
Nano with 0 Phosphate and Nitrate ricardo48 Nano Reefs 12 07-16-2011 04:32 PM
phosban reactor 150 help Jereli General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 07-04-2011 05:21 PM
Lowering phosphate levels Saga Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 07-03-2011 02:28 PM
a few quick inline co2 reactor questions... fishfanatic DIY Projects 5 07-01-2011 01:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.