Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2014, 09:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Phosphate reduction...

What is the best media for phosphate reduction in a HOB filter (AC70)... I don't have a sump but am looking for some experiences and thoughts as to the most effective way to do this, set aside from water changes... Thank you.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
I would do GFO in a reactor if possible.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
No good way of doing a reactor... No sump unfortunately.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Phosphate reduction...

I've never really looked into it another way...
I'll read into some different types of media and let you know.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure Chemi-pure Elite has some phosphate removal in it.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Yep CPE has some, rowaphos or seachems phosgaurd (I use the latter) both work well
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 10:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Yep CPE has some, rowaphos or seachems phosgaurd (I use the latter) both work well

You use the phosgard? And is it in a HOB?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 10:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Yeah, in an ac30. I also run CPE with it.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 10:25 PM   #8
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,529
for a hob you could try these pads you would need to cut to size

Aquarium Chemical Filtration & Phosphate Remover: Drs. Foster & Smith PhosPureŽ Pads

I use them in my wet dry filter/sump and they been doing a good job but I also double them up
__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:58 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 107
Pads, cpe & others will not reduce phosphates as much as keep them at the level you are at now, no mater what it is. Get GFO, get "the Bag" from Seachem and place it in the bottom of your basket, then whatever else you run if anything on top. Follow the instructions to a tee any you will get them down to whatever you want. Do you have the InTank for your AC70? If not i would recommend it, i have one for my 30, 50 & 70 on different set ups and works great!
__________________
drfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 06:10 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by drfu View Post
Pads, cpe & others will not reduce phosphates as much as keep them at the level you are at now, no mater what it is. Get GFO, get "the Bag" from Seachem and place it in the bottom of your basket, then whatever else you run if anything on top. Follow the instructions to a tee any you will get them down to whatever you want. Do you have the InTank for your AC70? If not i would recommend it, i have one for my 30, 50 & 70 on different set ups and works great!

Why do you say that? I've had CPE reduce phosphates plenty before. Sure, GFO is ideal, but only when run in my reactor IMO/IME.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, phosphate, red

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phosphate reduction ddm_aet Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 02-01-2007 03:46 PM
Phosphate reduction 101 Fubie Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 07-08-2005 05:36 AM
Phosphate reduction to reduce green hair algae question.... billy302 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-01-2005 07:54 PM
Nitrate reduction KLN Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-18-2003 08:56 PM
Nitrate reduction apophis924 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-10-2003 05:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.