Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-28-2011, 12:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Phosphate retractor / algae turf scrubber

So I am looking at upgrading my sump and my system and I am looking at adding a phosphate retractor and algae turf scrubber. I'm looking for some advice on how to build the turf scrubber and what type of phosphate retractor to purchase( tank is 60 gal) also what is the best flow through the phosphate retractor and algae turn scrubber and what type of gfo should I use? I'm thinking on connecting the two so I only have to use one pump. Any advice is well appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 03:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
You better do one or the other, not both. The scrubber and phos reactor will fight each other and make the scrubber useless.

To build a scrubber, all you need is 1 watt of light per sq. inch of screen. and multiply total water volume by 10 to get the gph needed for flow.

The physical construction is pipe with slit, pump, and plastic mesh from a hobby or craft store, and lights(most use cfl's in shop reflectors.)
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 04:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Ok sounds good I ended up getting a phosphate retractor. I have some mrx,bioplastic in it right now( lfs recommended it. I do have some gfo coming in the mail so we will see how the bioplastic works) if after 4 months I see no change I will add the turf scrubber.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
Just change the media every 2 weeks for a month(while testing to see if the madia is saturated(full) then you should be able to change once every 2 mos or so depending on phos load.
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdogg85
Just change the media every 2 weeks for a month(while testing to see if the madia is saturated(full) then you should be able to change once every 2 mos or so depending on phos load.
That is what I am planing on. Also how much water flow? I would think just enough to get the media to bounce around some.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
I believe the "rule of thumb" is to get the media to do a gentle roll in the reactor. You can tee off the return pipe and place a valve to regulate the water flow. Just take it easy when starting it up and all should be fine.
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
So I ended up getting the phosphate reactor and building a algae turf scrubber. I thought it could not hurt anything. I have the return line of the phosphate reactor plumbed to the turf scrubber, and I must say for $10 spent at home depo it was a good investment. Everything is running smooth and I plan to have some pictures up in the following weeks to show the progression
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:34 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 114
Correct... it will not hurt anything. However since the algae won't grow that much (because of the P reactor), it will not be able to remove much nitrate, or make many pods.
__________________
SantaMonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by SantaMonica
Correct... it will not hurt anything. However since the algae won't grow that much (because of the P reactor), it will not be able to remove much nitrate, or make many pods.
The purpose of having the algae turf scrubber plumbed after the reactor is for it to "grow/catch" algae and excess phosphates and nitrates that the reactor does not catch.
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, phosphate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algae Scrubber Basics Floyd R Turbo DIY Projects 90 08-15-2012 05:35 PM
how do you measure the Phosphate levels and DOC (dissolved organic compounds) ??? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-14-2011 12:36 AM
Please help with phosphate (totaly lost) Daveb82 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 09-10-2011 06:41 PM
Algae Scrubber + Sump francis DIY Projects 0 08-06-2011 02:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.