Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-26-2012, 12:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jetmech2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: midlothian tx
Posts: 60
Phosphates

What's the best thing to use to remove phosphates? I've had my tank going for 9 months and my phosphates stay around .45 ppm to .55 ppm (Hanna checker)
__________________

__________________
Jetmech2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 01:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Phosban
Or run Chemi-pure Elite

The chemipure really is good stuff. Keep my water crystal.
__________________

__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 01:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
or waterchanges
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 01:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 717
Water changes using water with no phosphates. After phosphates have been reduced, rinse frozen foods and limit flake foods which are known to contain phosphates.
__________________
Sergie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jetmech2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: midlothian tx
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo
or waterchanges
I do 10 to 20% water changes every week (I have a 220g tank). I use a six stage ro/di unit. .5 and 1 micron filter, carbon filter, di chamber, and two di chambers. I have 0 TDS in the water I use for top off and mixing salt. I use red sea coral reef pro salt mix
__________________
Jetmech2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jetmech2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: midlothian tx
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergie
Water changes using water with no phosphates. After phosphates have been reduced, rinse frozen foods and limit flake foods which are known to contain phosphates.
I alway rinse frozen food with water I get out of the sump, I don't use flake food. I do use algae sheets.
__________________
Jetmech2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:58 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
is it a newly setup tank? if so and you had the rock from another tank it is possible that the phosphates are leeching out of the rock. just keep up with the waterchanges and if you'd like you can look into gettign PURA pads or a phosban reactor with GFO

there is also the possibility that if you have a refugium with micro algae, mainly cullerpa that it has go sexual and is now releasing phosphates into your system that it had once sucked out
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 03:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jetmech2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: midlothian tx
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo
is it a newly setup tank? if so and you had the rock from another tank it is possible that the phosphates are leeching out of the rock. just keep up with the waterchanges and if you'd like you can look into gettign PURA pads or a phosban reactor with GFO

there is also the possibility that if you have a refugium with micro algae, mainly cullerpa that it has go sexual and is now releasing phosphates into your system that it had once sucked out
I've had the tank fully set up for 9 months, the guy I got it from had it for a year with about 100 pounds of rock, I got another 100 pounds from a guy off Craig's list. The only macro algae in sump is chaeto. I guess it's coming from the rocks. I had gfo from bulk reef supply and I tried it in a reactor and in a sock and it turned my rocks brownish and I got a major algae out brake each time I used it. (and yes I rinsed it before I used it)
__________________

__________________
Jetmech2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Benefits | Lighting »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on phosphates Spotted Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-13-2012 01:12 PM
phosphates stevedpepper Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-12-2011 09:32 AM
How to get rid of phosphates Hondatek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-07-2011 03:44 PM
What Causes Phosphates?? fishiefish51 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-27-2011 03:34 PM
HELP! Marine, Fowler. The skinny on Phosphates kayak Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 08-23-2011 12:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.