Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-04-2005, 08:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
phosphates

ok, my tank parameters are great,

ammonia 0
nitrite 0
nitrate 10
ph 8.1
salinity 1.023
temp 80

but i have green hair algea and red cyano. not a lot of it but i dont want any! i have a HOB filter with floss and carbon, and one powerhead (my tank is only 10 gallons)
for lighting i have a coralife 50/50 compact flourecent 28 watts on the front and a standard 15 watt on the back, i leave them on from about 9am - 8pm usually.

i have 10lbs of liverock from LR.com
2 clowns and about 10 snails, and 6 hermits, which should be plenty for such a small tank.

i just tested for phosphate, although i'm not sure i did it right, it says to fill it to the line, but theres two lines, one is for low range and one is for high range apparently, but i dont know which im testing for, so if anyone has this test, its a "seatest", put out by "aquarium systems" please let me know which line is correct, anyways, when i test to the bottom line, i get a reading of almost .6, which i'm gonna assume is high, and is responsible for my algae problem.....
my question (yes i do have one after all this blabber) is how do i reduce my phosphate level?

i started my tank with tap water (i didn't know any better )
but i started using RO water from walmart about 4 weeks ago. ( for my water changes and evapo.) im really not too sure i want to use any chemical means of reducing it, Im very leary of putting anything but fish food in my tank. it just doesnt seem natural. but what else can i do? just wait?

sorry for such a long post! any advice would be appreciated! TIA guys!
__________________

__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
The best way to reduce your PO4 level is to use a souce water that has not PO4 in it. A good quality RO/DI will do the trick, providing the DI resin and membrane are in good condition. Also, most froozen and prepared foods also contain PO4. If you feed frooze, thaw it in RO/DI water and then rinse it in RO/DI water before adding it to the tank. If you run carbon, change it often. It is thought to leech PO4 into the the water.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
You could get a phospate sponge which will filter it out but which is not a chemical additive. Maybe an emerald crab. You can pick the hair algae off of the substrate. Otherwise you will have to wait it out. Also avoid overfeeding and maybe cut down on the lighting times for a few weeks.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
started using RO water from walmart
Might want to actually test Wal Marts water for PO4. If it is strickly RO filtered water, it will do nothing to reduce PO4.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
how does a phosphate sponge work?
__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
They simply pull the PO4 out of the water. they need to be changed on a regular basis as well or they become saturated and will release the PO4 back into the water. They can help solve an outbreak but do nothing to help with the solution. Water changes with high quality water is still your best route.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
It's sort of like carbon or any other resin type media. I believe it comes in a bag and just sits in your filter or sump. I use phos-x from Petsmart but I don't have much of a problem since I started making my own fish food.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 10:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
i just tested my walmart water for phosphate and there is none. so thats a relief. i guess i'll get a phosphate sponge. thanks for the help!
__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 10:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
the answer may be in your food. What do you feed and how so you feed it? You may want to do several small water changes to get the PO4 out of your tank. Good luck! Lando
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 10:55 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 384
i feed formula two flake food at night, and twice a week a square of mysid shrimp.
__________________

__________________
mle421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphates buddha_red Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 10-17-2009 02:00 PM
Where do phosphates come from? frostby Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 06-28-2006 11:45 PM
phosphates sillyfishy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-24-2005 11:45 AM
phosphates rbarb1111 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 11-08-2004 08:41 PM
Phosphates...again lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 10-18-2004 12:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.