Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2004, 12:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bedford Hills, NY
Posts: 251
Pinpoint PH Monitor - one day famous, now infamous

I'm so ^&* with my PH monitor - I bought a pinpoint about 2 years ago. I know they recommend replacing the probe in 18 months but I have calibrated this thing about 10 times - always calibrates correctly. The mfg says only replace the probe when you can not calibrate the unit.

The problem lies in the fact that it reads 9.0 (yikes!) in my SW FO tank - seachem PH test reads 8.2 and dKH are about 4 meq/l - so now what - do I buy a probe for 50 bucks or is there something wrong with the unit. Who knows.

Bottom line - loved this thing when I got it, now it's another complication.

Tom
__________________

__________________
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
TheMadNucleus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:13 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I read this on Dr. Foster and Smith's web site. It also suggested replacing the probe every 18 months.

"To ensure proper pH readings, clean sensing glass of probe every few weeks using ONLY a wet toothbrush and calibrate monthly. "

I'd take the chance that the unit just needs a new probe.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:14 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
My probe is 3 years old and still going strong! When the probes go they really go whacky and jump all over the place!$50 for a probe is a littel high. $40 is more like it!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bedford Hills, NY
Posts: 251
Hey Darin - Yeah - I've notice you've got one of the best prices on the probe - and yep - I'm with you - I think once they go you just can't calibrate them and mine you can definately calibrate and it will hold the 10.0 or 7.0 reading for as long as I've held in the test solution (few minutes for sure). If there is any variation it is only 10.0 to 10.1 to 9.99 and back.

But I'm really confused cuz the tank reads 8.2 using seachem test (I think this is one of the beter hi-ph test kits - very easy to read) and the Monitor says 9.0. Go fiigure. Fish look great, no signs of stress, very strong activity and appetites.

I have no clue what to do with the thing next and I don't want to spend the money on the probe just to find out it's the meter and the meter is only covered for 1 year.

Tom
__________________
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
TheMadNucleus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:13 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
take your water to a LFS and have them confirm the Ph. With you're tests, one of the two is "off" but you don't know which to believe So a third party reading will let you know which one is off.

It's my bet your probe is off. even though it's calibrating, it may be old enough that it's misreading the farther it gets away from the calibration point. IMO, I'd be happy getting two years out of something the manufacturer suggests replacing every year and a half.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bedford Hills, NY
Posts: 251
Thanks everyone.

BillyZ - yep sounds reasonable - but pretty sure the PH is 8.2 (besides, don't trust my LFS too much - figured that when they pulled out a Wardley's test kit) and that the monitor is not working - just not sure if it's the probe or the monitor. That's a reasonably expensive guess. I.e. replace the probe for $40, if it was the monitor, then buy a monitor with the probe for 89, then in just 2 years spent $220 on ph monitor (two units w/probe for 89 each and one superfolous probe for $40) - Yikes!

As for the mfg - I believe they actually only suggest that you will get at least 18 months but that it should be replaced when it can no longer be calibrated. Even then you can never be sure - could be that the probe is fine and the monitor is screwed up. As I mentioned - just another complication.

Anyway - guess I'll try replacing the probe - but I am not going to be a happy camper if it turns out to be the monitor


Tom
__________________
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
TheMadNucleus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 04:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
well if you do get the probe and it turns out the be the moniter you still have a new probe that can be used if that one fales.
__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 05:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bedford Hills, NY
Posts: 251
True, furstrating nonetheless.
__________________
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
TheMadNucleus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 07:40 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Do you know aanyone that has one that you can plug their probe into your monitor?
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 11:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 255
Hey Tom,
I've had the AM PinPoint PH & ORP monitor for 8 years and with the PH probe, I've only needed to change it once. The one I have now is going strong for about 4 years now. I guess that means I also got 4 years out of the first probe. My symptoms were that the probe would read high and erratic.
__________________

__________________
www.acura-legend.com/vbulletin
pecan2phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pinpoint

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have a pinpoint CA monitor? Brenden General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-11-2005 06:54 PM
Pinpoint calcium and SG monitor accuracy Brenden General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-27-2005 09:23 PM
pinpoint ph monitor troutman11111 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-23-2005 08:58 AM
Pinpoint PH Monitor IL Poppy828 Archive 5 03-09-2005 09:38 PM
Added pinpoint PH monitor and... Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-26-2004 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.