Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-01-2016, 06:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Pipe size

As I stated in another post I'm breaking my 120 down and moving to a 55 and making my own sump out of a 30 gallon. I'm curious as to what would be the proper PC pipe size I should be using when plumbing it out. Also, what size overflow box should I be using? This will be my 1st time plumbing a tank and building a sump as the 120 I acquired was already plumbed. And I'd there anywhere I might be able to go online and get schematics for this build?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 01:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
In my previous 60 gal I used this HOB overflow with a 300 gph. It works pretty good.

CPR CS Overflow Boxes
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 08:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
In my previous 60 gal I used this HOB overflow with a 300 gph. It works pretty good.

CPR CS Overflow Boxes

Thanks! So what size pic should I be using? This has a 3/4 so should I be using 1"? Also, I'm assuming with a 55 I only need 1intake and 1 return?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 11:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
The CPR with 300 gph has a 3/4 bulkhead. You can increase it to 1" if you want. The bigger the overflow pipe size the better. Your sump pump of course must not exceed the CPR gph rating but you can install a ball valve at the pump discharge so you can be flexible with the amount of flow you want. Usually the pipe size for the pump is smaller than the overflow. That means 1/2" pipe is good enough.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Thanks. I'll have to go back and see if I can find the part work on my pump. I know it was rated for up to a 150 tank , so I can only assume it would be more than enough for this 55 gallon project. But, I'll double check it.

I'm also assuming that one single return and a jet on the opposite side should provide adequate water agitation, correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 08:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
The pump gph should be as close as much as possible with overflow gph. Otherwise the pump will create noise when choking it so much. A 30 % reduction of capacity is fine but a 60 % reduction is not recommended. in other words a 400 gph pump when limiting it to 300 gph is fine. While using a 900 gph and limiting it to 300 gph is not recommended. You will surely create noise and vibration.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 04:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Pipe size

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
The pump gph should be as close as much as possible with overflow gph. Otherwise the pump will create noise when choking it so much. A 30 % reduction of capacity is fine but a 60 % reduction is not recommended. in other words a 400 gph pump when limiting it to 300 gph is fine. While using a 900 gph and limiting it to 300 gph is not recommended. You will surely create noise and vibration.

You can always divert part of the flow back to the sump with a tee fitting and valve. That way reducing the flow isn't hard on the pump at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 05:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregcoyote View Post
You can always divert part of the flow back to the sump with a tee fitting and valve. That way reducing the flow isn't hard on the pump at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
That's a genius idea Greg. I never thought of that.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 07:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
It how big pumps used in dredging works.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 01:42 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Pipe size

I'll need to look tonight and see what it is. I read the same thing, and they also supplied the same suggestion of the "tee and valve".

Now I need to find some schematics on how to get this sump built.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pipe, size

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pvc pipe size/adding a blower question RichE Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-31-2015 04:14 PM
what size pipe ? ? ? ? ? ? JRcichlids DIY Projects 5 10-25-2013 05:24 PM
PVC Ball Valve Broke On Pipe Return Close To Tank Base - Do I Re-pipe rx330 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-23-2010 07:48 PM
Sick Pipe Organ?? Calvin Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 10-19-2003 02:14 AM
Can you use PVC Pipe? And how to clean it to add to you tank newcomer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-25-2003 12:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.