Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-27-2005, 04:31 PM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
IMO, even with a big pump, you will need some supplimental flow. You could look into a SCWD or maybe a sea swirl to help with uneven water flow. Maybe even add a spray bar. These will has add head pressure.

You want chaotic flow for a reef and one nozzle is not going to cut it. Too much pressure might make it hard to keep things in place ... ie sand.

A couple of power heads on a wave timer will do nicely and don't really add noise.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweet Briar, Va
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to amahler
Got any sample models you could link to so I can see how that's configured?

Links to any vendor would be fine for the sake of examples... or links to galleries here?

I'd like to see how the powerheads are installed and if they can be done without being an eyesore. Also, this is acrylic with a mostly closed top, so routing of cords is a bit more complex and I don't have any overhang capabilities.

I just keep throwing out the challenges, I know.

Thanks!
- Aaron
__________________

__________________
Linux: Because rebooting is for adding hardware.

90G acrylic/22G sump/TF100A skimmer
90lbs (45 liverocks.com & ~45 donated 14+ year old Fiji)
Imperator, D. Saddle Butterfly, 2 Percula Clowns, Cleaner Shrimp and an army of Hermits that never sleep
amahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 11:49 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Tunzes have rock installations. Pretty cool, IMO and immense flow. Some models come with controllers. www.tunze.com
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, filtration, moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving 65 gal to basement Cromileptes14 DIY Projects 3 02-05-2009 07:55 PM
Moving tank to basement. Need advice. binaryterror Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 01-02-2006 06:46 PM
Considering moving filtration to basement... input? amahler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-09-2005 05:04 PM
Need help - moving sump to the basement ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 02-22-2005 03:13 PM
Moving: filtration question... Tigerlily General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-22-2003 12:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.