Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2004, 08:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
plans for a kalk doser.

Does anyone know of any plans for a kalk dripper or doser however you prefer to say it. Nothing fancy but nothing trashy either. Thanks
__________________

__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:43 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Auto top off with a float switch, doesn't get much easier than that Just need a powerhead, a floatswitch (www.autotopoff.com) some tubing and a resevoir (I use some rubbermaid containers from walmart, very inconspicuous, especially if the resevoir needs to be outside the stand). Cost about 30-50 bucks
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
well for right now here is what sumphead and i are going to do. Buil an acrylic tank to sit on top of the sump. It will hold 2-3 gallons. That is what i will put my kalk in. I loose about a gallon a day so i figure i will hve to replace it about every two days. Does this sound ok?
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 10:02 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I'd go for 10, it's a pain replacing it every few days, I started with a 5g container and quickly went with a 10g container.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 10:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Quote:
it's a pain replacing it every few days, I started with a 5g container and quickly went with a 10g container.
Amen brother! I started with 5 gallons and now have one that holds more than 15 gallons. I got an unused RV water tank. It's square sides let me hide it between the stand and the wall, relatively inconspicuous.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 12:10 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
The only problem is that i am trying to hide it in the stand. No room in there really for a 10 gallon container. The girlfriend doesn't like stuff just sitting on the sides of the stand and neither do I. Any other suggestions.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 02:16 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Build a separate box to match the stand and put your kalk reservoir in there. You'll be happier with a larger container.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 02:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
I wish i could just find a used calcium reactor somewhere. Cant afford to buy a new one. To expensive.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 04:37 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Look into a kalk reactor, or build one. Sumphead should be able to build you a kalk reactor, or a CA reactor, but the money comes into the ca reactor with the co2 regulator
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 07:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
yeah he is building a kalkreactor as we speak. The only problem is i would have to run an R/O line to the ractor. I live in an aprtment so there is really no way for me to do that. I would much rather have a kalk reactor b/c then you don't have to buy the gages and tank and crap like that. AHHH. Maybe i will just dose B- Ionic the rest of my life. This sucks. Well hopefully i will figure something out.
__________________

__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
doser

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto top off/doser th08tu General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-09-2010 11:07 PM
doser batfire General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-20-2006 11:01 AM
Ca reactor, kalk reactor, or drip kalk? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-17-2005 12:04 AM
Make your own doser... MattP725 DIY Projects 3 10-05-2004 04:43 PM
kalk brndfrb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 23 07-06-2004 09:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.