Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 06-03-2005, 07:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Please Help

I have a 55 gallon tank with algae problems. I have a green powder that accumulates on all my glass. I have done a 10 gallon water change with R/O water (used tap in the past), completed a filter change about 2 weeks ago and cleaned them yesterday. The algae looks like powder once you clean it from the front glass but will return within 2-3 hours. In addition, my snails seem to be lifeless but are not dead. They cling to the glass but do not move. My PH was off a few days ago, but I have addressed that problem and my PH is now 8.2. Ammonia, nitrate and nitrite are no existent. I have been adding calcium, iodine and strontium & molybdenum. Please help! I am new to this and have over 1500 dollars invested. PLEASE HELP!!!.

Equipment: 110 Gallon Protein skimmer, 2 emperor 330 biowheel filters, Power compacts and around 20 pounds of live rock.

mcurrie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:45 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
can you provide more info about your skimmer and how its setup. The power your describinb I get on my glass but it usually does not show up for a few days between algae magnet uses. What it sounds like is you have excessive nutrients for the algae to grow. Is there a reason your adding iodine and other trace elements? The usual rule of thumb is to not dose what you dont test for. Are you testing for calcium, iodine and strontium and molybdenum? If not then I would discontinue dosing until you can get test kits for those and know your water levels before and after dosing.