Please help ! Beginner with 700 Gallon Tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arjunsud

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone,

Thank you for stopping by my post . I am a beginner with tanks. I have had a 120 gallon freshwater tank that I got and have really enjoyed it but have always wanted saltwater because it is more exotic.

Today I traded something worth 2,500 for a 700 gallon tank with everything included ( sump, protein skimmer, fish, live rock, lights,coolers,lids, food....)

I have almost no idea what the sump and protein skimmer really do. I saw the tank and it is beautiful and its 700 high so i was hoping to put sharks or maybe an octopus or something exotic.

I have a person that comes and does my tank maintenance bi weekly. Currently he is charging me $ 50 for each visit for my 120 gallon and said that for another 50 per visit he would maintain my saltwater 700 gallon as well.

From what I have been told, startup is one of the biggest costs and fortunately this tank is established and I will be getting most of the water ( transported in barrels).

I wanted to ask you all, what are the typical maintenance costs for a saltwater tank? Do you think that for 200 a month bi weekly I am getting a good deal on both my 120 gallon freshwater and 700 gallon saltwater?

Any advice you could share would be much appreciated.

Thank You!