Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2004, 10:12 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 861
Send a message via MSN to Brisc0
LoL you'll get em next year eh der bear fan?
__________________

__________________
Here's to swimmin with bowlegged women.

-105G SPS Reef with 30G Sump/Fuge Combo
-30G LTAnemonarium with mated porcelain crabs, 10 sexy shrimp, and 2 pink skunks all tied into the other 135G in my system.
Brisc0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 02:23 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 81
well I have a pvc/egg crate plenum/ screen with 3/4 inch dead water space covering the entire bottom of my 40 G tank. on top is about 60lbs of crushed coral.

back to my orginal question, should I remove it or not?
__________________

__________________
40g show
30g sump/fuge (low flow)
2 PH's and via aqua 2600 sump pump
50lbs LR
2" cc on 3/4 plenum
3" sugar aragonite in fuge with hair algae
20w white NO in fuge
65w pc 50/50 (2 bulbs)
20w actinit 2 damsels
1 TR clown
shrooms and zoos
h2o quality is solid 0's. 80 d.
sacramentofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 04:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 98
Send a message via MSN to smooth_rivers
ouchie Bearfan, lol
__________________
"Logic is the art of going wrong with confidence."
smooth_rivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 05:46 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
. on top is about 60lbs of crushed coral
Yes remove it, from what I understand about plenums crushed coral is too large a substrate for proper operation.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 12:00 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 391
I have real fine sand on top of my plenum. This is a tough topic, because everyone will have a different opinion. I am sure that someone probably has seen some problems with one, but I have seen some function for years and years with good results. 8O
__________________
"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
bizzybeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 02:17 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 81
I have small 1-2mm crushed coral directly on the plenum screen about 1 1/2 inch deep, then another inch or so of 2-3 mm crushed coral on top of that. I have 0 nitrates/nitrites after 4 mnths. I think I will leave it in..way too much hassle to remove it and I may just do more harm than good.. on to my 30 g sump/fuge project..
thanks for the info. btw- just ordered 30lbs or hirocks.. just what I was looking for
__________________
40g show
30g sump/fuge (low flow)
2 PH's and via aqua 2600 sump pump
50lbs LR
2" cc on 3/4 plenum
3" sugar aragonite in fuge with hair algae
20w white NO in fuge
65w pc 50/50 (2 bulbs)
20w actinit 2 damsels
1 TR clown
shrooms and zoos
h2o quality is solid 0's. 80 d.
sacramentofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 11:53 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzybeas
I have real fine sand on top of my plenum. This is a tough topic, because everyone will have a different opinion. I am sure that someone probably has seen some problems with one, but I have seen some function for years and years with good results. 8O
bizzybeas - I am getting ready to build my first plenum and would like to know what sand you used to put on top of yours. You say it is a real fine sand - do you know what the sand was? Was it southdown sand?

Thanks for your help, and any advice or wisdom you can impart on how to keep a successful plenum would be greatly appreciated.

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 12:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Quote:
I have 0 nitrates/nitrites after 4 mnths. I think I will leave it in..way too much hassle to remove it and I may just do more harm than good
Having 0 nitrates after only 4 months is not that uncommon, and IMO not a good indicator to the efficiency of the setup. Crushed coral is not recommended for plenums or any other deep substrate filtration. It will allow too much oxygenated water into the bottom layer of your estimated 2.5" of CC. Thus, I doubt you will get the benefits of having an anaerobic zone.

Crushed coral also traps a TON of detritus and should be vacuumed regularly. This will disrupt any functionality of your plenum anyway, or if you don't vacuum will just build up with detritus. IMO, you will be doing far more harm than good in the long run by keeping it in. I would either build a proper plenum or remove it and just have the substrate.
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 05:29 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 81
What about all the disruption to the current sand bed comunity? I have TON's of bristles, britle stars, cops and mysis shrimps.. will the removal and addition of more sand kill them off?

I am expecting 30lbs of hirocks and have a 30g sump/fuge I am setting up, so I might consider pulling the plenum and moving some of the existing LR around to make room for the new base rock. I just don't want to chash my sand bed comunity by ripping out the plenum..
__________________
40g show
30g sump/fuge (low flow)
2 PH's and via aqua 2600 sump pump
50lbs LR
2" cc on 3/4 plenum
3" sugar aragonite in fuge with hair algae
20w white NO in fuge
65w pc 50/50 (2 bulbs)
20w actinit 2 damsels
1 TR clown
shrooms and zoos
h2o quality is solid 0's. 80 d.
sacramentofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 06:07 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
The CC should be completely aerobic at this point, I don't think it would cause an issue to remove the plenum plate and just have the CC (I would give it a good vacuum first to avoid a nasty storm of debris). If you would be considering removing and replacing the whole substrate then obviously you would lose most of the critters.
__________________

HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plenum

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why ditch the Plenum? bj5z25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-01-2005 01:31 PM
Move plenum? TwtyBrd Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-29-2004 02:30 PM
Plenum Research toddwess Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 02-17-2004 09:45 AM
Plenum questions cashman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-19-2003 11:43 PM
Plenum??? Yes or No? GOMSU79 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-22-2003 11:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.