Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2004, 01:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 20
Plumbing

Before I start getting pipes and what not, I need to know all the handy safeguards to keep my floor from getting flooded with water. My wife hates that. My biggest question isn't about the power going off since I plan on having a big enough bucket to hold the backflow, but what happens if I lose my siphon for some reason. What keeps my pump from emptying my sump and overflowing my display? There has to be some trick besides keeping your water low enough to handle the extra volume. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
uncwalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 01:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
ya knwo uncwalley i wonder the same things my self thats why i dont want a huge tank with a sump
__________________

__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 02:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
You dont have to have a sump, with a big tank.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 09:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
i know, revhtree.... but in a amaller tank you dotn always have to have sump,

plus all that water and pumps and pipes jsut make s me nervous

:P and someone please help uncwalley :P
__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 11:20 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
You can get a pressure switch from CoralVue that will cut off the pump when the water in the sump drops to a certain level. There is no way to guarantee that you won't lose the siphon although, if it's set up properly, it's rare for it to happen.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 03:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 215
Get a drilled tank or have your tank drilled then no worries....
__________________
Overstocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 02:29 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
float switch

I understand your concerns perfectly.

I installed a float switch in the sump. If the siphon stops for any reason (snail, whatever...), the sump pump will continue to pump water into the display tank. This causes the water level in the sump to drop. (water leaves sump, but isn't coming back)

The lower water level in the sump triggers the float switch which cuts power to the sump pump before the aquarium overflows.

So far, the siphon (CPR) has never failed...but I sleep better.

It has also turned out to be a safeguard in the event that my fresh water replenishment pump fails. Within 8 hours, I've lost so much to evaporation that it triggers the low sump level switch.
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 06:01 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 325
Put a check valve after the return pump as well. That will keep extra water from backing down the return(s).
__________________
24 hours? NE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 07:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Or seal off the pump in its own compartment. If the siphon breaks, only the pump compartment empties.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2004, 05:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
but then the pump runs dry and that is not good.
__________________

__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plumbing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plumbing h8z2luze General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 08-30-2009 01:21 AM
plumbing ????? redswi DIY Projects 11 12-29-2006 05:58 PM
help- plumbing!!! nodoubt471 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-05-2005 01:44 AM
plumbing ClamKnuckle Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 07-11-2004 12:09 PM
Need Help with Plumbing riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-15-2003 12:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.