plumbing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ClamKnuckle

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I just got a new Aqua-C skimmer from darin at captivereefs (another great job by him) and have to change my plumbing around to get it into my sump

I have never done anything like this before to a fish tank that is up and running so i have a few quick questions...

1) it's okay to use the cement/glue/appoxy stuff that holds together PVC right?

2) how long do I have to wait after using that stuff before i can allow my tank water to flow through the piping again?

TIA!

I think that pvc glue sets up in a few minutes, but fully cures in 2 hours. I would give it more time than that, just to be safe. And rinse it well

eeeek!!!! I would not use it before 24 hours, as a general rule. That stuff is super toxic, so you should let it set a good while and rinse it very thoroughly before exposing it to your precious tank water. Safety first. That's just how I do it. Couple of hours might be fine, but I'll take a 24 hour wait over a wasted 2 years anyday.

ya I was wondering also about that, there is also aquarium safe silicon caulk that would wroka s well I would assume especially since there will never be any real pressure built up behind it it will seek the path it is supposed to you just want a good seal so it doesn;t leak