Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2004, 07:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Plumbing for my circulation pump?

Okay so if anybody has been following my new adventure lately I decided to use a Quiteone 4000 High head for my overflow/sump.

I just picked up a Little Giant 4-MDQX-SC which is a circulation pump, which is rated at 1225@3' and 1080@6'. I"m not 100% sure what size piping to run to get it into my tank.

The input and outputs are 1" so I figured I'll run 1" PVC pipe from the overflow box or from the tank and run that down to the pump. For the output I was thinking of 1" pipe run up to the top of the tank, then T off into two 3/4" pipes one going to the left side of the tank, one going to the right side. Then each 3/4" pipe would split off into two 1/2" pipe. One 1/2" would go in at the top of the tank and the other at the bottome on each side of the tank.

Does that make sence and would this work? I was told that these pumps should not be throttled back with a ball vavle, will the reduction in the piping be okay that I'm planning on? I was also thinking of using a SQWD like Logan suggested but that might be too much flow comming out of just two returns at a time?
__________________

__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 10:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to r95rdstr Send a message via MSN to r95rdstr Send a message via Yahoo to r95rdstr
Your overflow drain will need to be much larger. The pump returns water alot quicker through a 1" hose than water will drain from your tank through the same size hose. A 1" drain does 600gph max, but usually much less. A 1.25" drain does 900gph max, usually less. 90 degree elbows not only slow the return water, but also the drain water. I'm running a 1" return line from a pump that'll do about 1500gph give or take. I'm running two 1.25 drain holes and will be cutting it close at 1800 gph drain, max.
__________________

__________________
r95rdstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 12:12 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
You also do not want to run your overflow directly to your pump. There will be alot of air also going down that tube mixing with the pump imepellers and thus not very goood for the pump. The best thing to do is if your using an overflow is to put a sump between the overflow and the return pump.

If your going to use a scwd device then you should plumb 1" pvc up from the pump thru a one way gate valve and then reduce it to 3/4" just prior to the scwd. This is because as of yet they dont have a 1" scwd out on the market. THen run 3/4" plumbing out of the scwd to your tank. YOu dont need to drop to 1/2". Your not trying to acheve pressure or force from the outlets. In fact a concentrated jet stream of water is not as desirable as just a good steady current.

If they had a 1" scwd device I would suggest that and then plumbing the entire thing in 1" pvc.

I use the exact same pump at approx 4' head and I have an overflow with two 1" drains.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 02:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
So how should I get water from the tank to the circulation pump? Do you mean you have a seperate overflow box for the circulatoin pump that goes to a second sump then to the pump?
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 02:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
imo i would make out of pvc ya pick up tube out of your main tank to you little giant and then out back into the tank !! drill a bunch of little holes then your closed loop is easy and no need for another overflows which would only add a ton of bubbles that way !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 03:22 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Well if you want to make a closed loop then you coudl do as steve suggested or you could have the back of your tank drilled a few inches below the water line. Insert a bulkhead and a cone strainer. Then plumb that line in 1" pvc down to your pumps intake. Then turn around and plumb your return from the pump thru the scwd and into the tank.

If you where to use a hang on overflow then I would not run that directly into your pump as you will have alot of issues with air bubbles and the pump impeller.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 03:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I really would like to avoid a hang on back skimmer however I just filled my tank and I"m not even sure where I could get it drilled around here? I guess I could just use a cone Strainer and make the 1" PVC just go into the tank

This is more complicated than I though. I really wanted to do it this way to make the tank look cleaner but a few powerheads may actually look better than PVC pipe everywhere?
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 03:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
I really would like to avoid a hang on back skimmer however I just filled my tank and I"m not even sure where I could get it drilled around here?

think your missing something here !! not sure were the hang on skimmer came from but thats diff then trying to run a closed loop !! also imo the look of pvc in the tank the first month might not look good but after algaes coat it it looks fine and alot better to set up a closed loop than a few ph !! and you will be happier in the long run !! not hard just put some creative thought into it !! if ya have the will ya will find the way !!!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 03:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Maybe I am confused...I"m just trying to figure out how the water will get from the aquarium to the input side of the pump? I'm pretty sure how I'm gonna pump the water back into the tank but getting the water to the pump is my problem now, that's what I meant when I said couldn't I just run 1" PVC and just hang it over the back of the aquarium creating a siphon and just hook that end to the input side fo the pump so the pump would draw water directly from the aquarium?
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 04:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
ya dont really need a syphon !! if ya have the 1" pvc dropped into the tank the pump will suck the water out and then back into the tank !!! but ya dont want the 1" pvc to be all open other wise any poor fish swimming by will be sucked up for sure !! why i said to cap it and drill holes into it so ya dont suck up anything to big to damage ya pump or suck in a fish !!!
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circulation, circulation pump, plumbing, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquarium Systems launch NeWave High Flow Circulation Pump / Powerhead AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 11-10-2009 08:34 AM
Pump/Plumbing Question minotaur General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 11-25-2007 07:59 PM
Hydor Koralia Water Circulation Pump roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 10-27-2007 08:35 PM
Return Pump - Hard Plumbing issue fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-24-2006 06:00 PM
Circulation pump for a 30 gallon? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-25-2003 04:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.