Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-08-2005, 03:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
When I was using the HOB overflow, and there was a power failure, I never had a flood. The overflow will only take as much water as you have it adjusted to take. Once the power fails, and the tank water goes below the overflow's level no more water will flow to your sump. I recall thinking the same thing, so after I set mine up, I unplugged it to see what would happen. My sump came nowhere near overflowing. Sounds crazy, but its true.
__________________

__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 04:59 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
Not crazy, that's the design and intent. Same with an inside overflow. Once the water level is below the "teeth" on the overflow box, of course, water flow stops.
__________________

__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 08:46 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Scho, that tells me that you have no info on which is better its just your opinion.
If I had a choice I would get the bottom drilled, the issue may be you already have a tank and if you do 99% of the time the bottom is tempered so you can not drill it. So drilling the back is better then using a Overflow box.

Sdellin, my friend has a small power head in the OF box and has a hose attached to it in a fashion that it sucks any air that gets trapped in the overflow section of the box. That may help if it loses suction??
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 03:07 AM   #14
Kam
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to Kam
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdellin
I am planning a sump and had "non-pre-drilled" arcrylic tank.
Unlike glass, Acrylic is very easy to drill.
__________________
55 Gal FOWLR
105 lbs Live rock from LR.com
2 Yellow Tail Damsels
2 Green Chromis
1 Emerald Crab
3 Peppermint Shrimp
4 Scarlet Hermit Crabs
1 Blue Knuckle Hermit Crab
1 Large Turbo Snail
Hitchhickers: 3 Purple sea urchins, lots of rock crabs, pistol shrimp, brittle stars, snails, worms, etc.
and aiptasia, aiptasia, aiptasia (it was free $$)
Kam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 04:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vacaville, California
Posts: 1,355
Thanks for the advice all, I was thinking of trying to set up some kind of pump in the OF box.

Who knows, I may end up drilling the back since it is acrylic, but I just hate to remove all the fish and water and I'm assuming I'd have to do that.
__________________
Sharon
sdellin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 06:28 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
if you were drilling the bottom yes... The back no... lower the level so its a few inches below your drilling area.. acrylic tank should drill easy.
My friend drilled his 125 glass tank half full and mad out well.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 06:47 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
does anyone have a write up on building a overflow in the tank? i know the drilling part and the interesting thing is my tank is drilled - 2 holes
i didnt go this route cause I didnt know how to build the overflow inside the tank and ensure it works correctly
of course now changing will be a huge pain but it may be worthy to do before moving forward on stocking my tank

if anyone can send my links to info on this Id appreciate cause I would like to fully research this before considering the change
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, hob, overflow, overflow box, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow box for 100gallon reef tank catchndolphn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-06-2006 09:05 AM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
Drill tank or overflow box? thepuffah General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-07-2006 01:04 PM
sump pump vs. overflow box vs. tank size dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-04-2005 10:10 PM
Question on building an overflow box in tank runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 07-09-2005 04:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.