Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2004, 08:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to dinotrex
Powerhead Positioning

Where in a 55 gallon tank would you position 2 maxijet 1200? a 55 gal tank ideally should have 2 right?
__________________

__________________
dinotrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 08:46 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
In the back corners pointing forward and slightly to the center and SLIGHTLY toward the surface. Use a wave maker or timer to alternate them on and off. I am using 2 1200's plus a SCWD (@ 600gph) for really sweet random currents. My critters went from a tidal lagoon to the middle of a reef! The fish are still a little freaked out...
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
I just set up a 75 gal, would the same apply to me, or are more ph at a lower flow better?
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 09:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 46
I have a 45 gal and looking to and PHs to increase the flow over my recently added LR. I've read the reviews on PHs on this site, but am unsure of how many or what flow rate (GPH) is needed.

Thanks in advance,

Jeff
__________________
Jeff
45 gal AGA
Sand substrate
304 Fluval
2 Maxijet 900 PHs
60# LR
1 Blue Damsel
1 Yellow Tail Damsel
2 Percula Clown
1 Yellow Tang (Small)
1 Peppermint Shrimp
3 Astrea, 3 Cerith, and Unknown Nassarius (LR hitch hikers Snails
jvennitti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 09:51 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
The setup I described was on a 75.
On a 45 I would add one or two Maxijet 900. Use of a timer for on/off is highly recommended.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 12:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
I have my PH's set up on the sides, one pointing to the rear and the other towards the front. With a Emeror 400 for water movement and polishing. Just the baskets filled with AC. HEre's my tank:

__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 01:32 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Do you use a timer? With the ph's postioned that way does it create a swirl rather than a random wave motion? Are you trying to simulate waves breaking on a reef or a steady ocean current (I notice a school of chromis, no coral).
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 09:31 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 46
Anenomeman and XXFirefighter,

Thanks for the input!

Jeff
__________________
Jeff
45 gal AGA
Sand substrate
304 Fluval
2 Maxijet 900 PHs
60# LR
1 Blue Damsel
1 Yellow Tail Damsel
2 Percula Clown
1 Yellow Tang (Small)
1 Peppermint Shrimp
3 Astrea, 3 Cerith, and Unknown Nassarius (LR hitch hikers Snails
jvennitti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 11:12 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 56
This is how I setup my main display tank.. The long red line is an air holes with holes drilled it in at various positions to remove deadspots in and around my LR.
__________________
Razoreqx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemoneman
Do you use a timer? With the ph's postioned that way does it create a swirl rather than a random wave motion? Are you trying to simulate waves breaking on a reef or a steady ocean current (I notice a school of chromis, no coral).
I will be adding a Aqua C skimmer soon and another powerhead . I plan on getting the wave timer to then move the water more since I'll be addings some corals...
__________________

__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skimmer Positioning? Tank2379 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-23-2008 11:50 AM
Positioning the powerhead for Bamboo Shrimp? Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-16-2006 01:37 PM
Powerhead Positioning? bamaphan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-13-2006 11:00 AM
LiveRock Positioning Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 12-23-2004 12:43 PM
POSITIONING POWERHEAD brat213 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-27-2002 11:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.