Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-30-2004, 10:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
powerhead ?'s

my cousin has a 40 gallon gallon tank, corner tank.

What type of power head will she neeed and how many?

also she wants a tang but i am not sure that is big enough for a tang?
also wants clown(s)
__________________

__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 11:02 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Assuming this is a reef tank, I'd go with two Maxi Jet 900's or 1200's. 40 gal really isn't large enough for a tang of any kind. Clowns would do fine in there though.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 11:17 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Skip the tang.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 12:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Matoaca, Virginia
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to gump3842k Send a message via Yahoo to gump3842k
i'd go with two powersweep 214 powerheads, very effiecient and what i use in my tank, also it would a squeeze to have a tang in your tank, but i think you could do it, if you get it small and later when it get big sell it back to the LFS, just stay away from the bigger tangs
__________________
35 gallon hexagon tank
150 Watt VHO's
57 pds of live rock
seaclone 100 skimmer
proquatics power filter
powersweep power head
candy canes
yellow polyops
Pair of maroon clowns
gump3842k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 12:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
40 gallons is to small for a tang. You don't want to get it now and sell it when it gets bigger b/c that is very stressful on the fish. I also wouldn't go with powersweeps b/c they tend to get clogged and not move anymore. I would go with what logan said and get thee maxi 900's.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 01:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
uhh i dotn thnk she is gonna make it into a reef just a FOWLR. but i assume it will be the same, also where to point the two and where to put them in the tank for optimum performance

thank you everyone
__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 01:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
I would put the two powerheads in the corners pointing to the front. So that the water from the powerheads cross each other. That is were i would put them.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 01:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
ok thanks but what exatly does that do for the current jsut curius?
__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 02:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
it gives it a more turbulent current. Much like the reefs and ocean currents. You don't have to do taht you can place them pretty much wherever you want to.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 07:34 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
I would start by crossing the ph stream. But I was always curious as to how water flows in corner tanks. I would think that the corners would not get much flow. When you get the ph set up drop a flake of food in the corner and watch the way it moves. If it just stays there, I would adjust the ph to compensate for it.
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Where does the powerhead go? Bunny Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-16-2007 06:05 PM
Powerhead artoledo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 05-09-2007 06:54 PM
To powerhead or not to powerhead...that is the question. STARFYRE Nano Reefs 14 01-01-2007 05:43 PM
powerhead? Brian Vartanian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-29-2005 01:34 PM
is my powerhead too much? pennybabe01 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-13-2004 08:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.