Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2004, 04:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Problem with RO unit

I finally figured it was time to change out all the cartridges in my Aqua FX RO/DI unit. I didn't realize it was going to cost $120+ for everything I needed so I thougth I would try and salvage the parts from my old RO unit that was a POS that leaked constantly. It was only used to make a small amount of water so I figured the RO membrane, carbon and micron filter would still have some life left in them. I switched them over to my baraccuda and flushed it for probably 15minutes total. I filled and drained the holding tank several times but my TDS meter still says 7. I didn't have a DI cartridge replacement so I just left it off because it looked gross, could this be a problem?

BTW, my tap water is about 160 and when the unit was unit I got TDS readings of 0-2.
__________________

__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 05:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I would guess thats the problem. I just changed everything on mine, I feel you pain. $$
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 05:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I put the DI cartridge on from the ebay unit and now the TDS meter says 0-1 I think these recycled parts will hold me over until I get some $$ for new parts.

How often do you flush your membrane and for how long? How often shoud the membrane and other components be replaced? I know it varies depending on how bad your water is but a rough guess.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit Agnate80700 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-23-2007 03:10 PM
My New R2 Unit travis simonson General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-30-2006 09:06 PM
do i need a ro/di unit? stevefromga2000 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 07-11-2006 02:48 AM
Ro Unit zacdl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-23-2005 11:17 PM
Is an R.O. unit necessary? cybercron Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-03-2003 01:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.