Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-13-2004, 10:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

problems affixing corals

I have a lot of experience keeping fish, but am new with reefs. I am having problems affixing my corals. At first I found some holes in the rocks to put them in. Now I have used most of the smaller holes. I have a tubinara that I had used an entire tube of epoxy to affix. It stayed for about a month but tumbled over recently. I also have a toadstool leather that I am not sure how to attach. I have even tried using superglue gel, but I think the surface area is too incongruent for it to work. My poor corals! Any ideas? Should I try more epoxy?

"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
bizzybeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 10:17 PM   #2
steve-s

Try the sandwich teqnique.

Coral>>supreglue gel>> epoxy>> superglue gel > LR.

The glue will allow the bonds to hold up against the weight of the coral and the epoxy will allow the surfaces to "mold" together. You may need to hold the coral or prop it up for a short time while the glue sets up a bit.

Cheers
Steve
Old 02-14-2004, 12:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I will try that, I never knew this would be so hard to do. To be safe, do I need to dry off the surfaces firstbefore glueing? I do not want to harm the tubinara.
"So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living and moving thing with which the water teems...And God saw that it was good" Gen1:21
Old 02-14-2004, 12:40 AM   #4
cj10488

Quote:
To be safe, do I need to dry off the surfaces firstbefore glueing?