Problems with Bulb Anemone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bmdirks

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am relatively new to the saltwater hobby. Started my 30 gallon tank in January. Stocked with 30 lbs of live rock and live sand. Installed Bak Pak 2 protein skimmer, Penguin 150 filter, and a Coralife Metal halide 150 W light. Since then I have added a Tomato Clown fish, Bulb anemone, Open Brain Coral, Leather Coral, Domino Damsel fish, and a Vietnamese Zoanthid (in that order).

I am feeding the fish 1/2 cube of mysis shrimp daily and feeding the Bulb anemone and Open Brain Coral 1/2 cube of mysis shrimp weekly.

The Bulb anemone was added in early February and has been deflating once a week. In the last 4 days it has deflated 3 times. Each time it has opened back up looking great. Do I have anything to worry about?

Water quality seems fine and is outlined below:

Ca= 510
SP= 1.023
Temp= 81F
Ammonia= 0mg/l
Nitrite= <0.3mg/l
Nitrate= 10mg/l
pH= 7.9
KH=7 DH
Phosphate= 0.4mg/l

it sounds pretty normal but you should have 0 nitrite and 0 phosphate. do a few pwc's over the next few days.

Pardon my ignorance but by pwc do you mean water change? Also, my LFS told me that since my tank is so young I should anticipate some phosphate until bacteria has established itself. Are there supplements I can add to speed up the process?

yup: partial water change. how old is the tank? is it fully cycled? how did u cycle? and there arent any good supplements to speed up the process.

The tank is 2 months old (started 1/11/09), it was cycled in the first week according to my LFS. I cycled with live rock and live sand. Introduced a Tomato clown on 1/17 and the anemone on 2/6. Domino damsel, open brain coral and leather coral added 2/14. Vietnamese zoanthids added 3/1. I am done adding livestock for awhile. Any additional advice?