problems with keeping sps

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pokmijn

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok why cant i keep any sps corals i couldn't keep any with my old light and my new one. hear's my readings:
ammonia- 0
nitrite- 0
nitrate- 15
phosphate- .25
ca- 400
alk- 10
mag- around 1300
my light is dual 175w 10k mh w/1 55 watt t-5 actinic

i tried pink birdnest, lower light acro after the second day it would already start to die(turning white) from all over.

i place it all the way at the bottom when i first put it into my tank. any idea anyone.

You need your nitrate as close to 0 as you can get it, 0 is best. How is your flow? Alk is also high. Calk a little low I think. Im new to SPS so hopefully a expert will elaborate. SPS wants plenty of light, if your getting them from a LFS with MH go ahead and place them high, but 350MH in a 55 is more than enough. I would say its not your lighting unless your bulbs are really old. I use 14k MH, I dont know how the 10k's are. Experts???

You might have to much lighting but I could be wrong.... I have a 55G and my Coraline has recently stop growing but everything else is. How long are you keeping your lights on during the day?

The lighting is more than adequate for a 55g. Ca is fine. Alk is 10dKH? That is fine. Try to bring down your NO3, but not detrimental either quite yet. You mentioned can't keep "any" sps so what other sps have you tried? Your phosphate could be lower, try a PO4 remover or reactor. What kind of water flow do you have? Birdsnest corals are not considered "hardy" corals by any means unless captive-raised and I've noticed a preference for low lighting compared to that of acropora.

For flow i have two koralia 2 and maxi-jet 1200 with the mod
i haven't tried anything else cause i dont want to get it and kill it(but have had softies and leathers)