protein filter help needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

neon_hybrid

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok, Im new to the whole saltwater fish tank thing, but I will give you some basics of what I have. I have a 55 gallon tank with a total of 5 fish. The 5 fish are a 2.5 inch clown fish, 3 inch yellow tang, 1.25 inch yellow tail damsel (2), and a 3 inch angel fish (cant remember the type), and 1 shrimp, and about 3 descent size snails. I am running a wet dry sump with bio balls, and my sump has a in built protein skimmer. I have live rock as well. I bought the tank used, and fully established, and the previous owner did regular water changes (10 gallons bi weekly). The tank has never had fish disease, and has only had 1 fish die in the tank which was about a year ago. After moving the tank (kept about 90% of the existing water), I bought a saltwater test kit which tests PH, amonia, nitrite, and nitrate. My Ph level is 8.2 which i understand is ok for the most part, my nitrite, and amonia levels are 0, and my nitrate level was 160 ppm 8O . After finding this, I started trying to determine what might be causing the skyrocketing nitrate levels. I have had the tank up and running for about a week now, and I amazingly havent lost any fish due to the high nitrate levels. I found that my protein skimmer did not seem to work properly, and was not collecting anything. I determined that my rio 800 was not pumping enough water. I took a used power head, and modified it so it works as a venturi style pump. After putting that pump head in, the protein skimmer seemed to be working, and I started getting foam inside the cup. After the foam settled, and turned back into water inside the cup, the color of the water was a yellow/brown color. My understanding is thats how its supposed to work, but after a day I cleaned out the skimmer, and now the bubbles stoppe