Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2011, 08:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rossland BC Canada
Posts: 10
Protein Skimmer?

I am getting ready to start up a new saltwater 105 gallon tank. The setup comes with a fluval Fx5 external filter. Do I still need to set up a sump tank as well? Do I need a protein skimmer as well, I plan on live rock,corals, and just a few fish. Thanks kitch40:
__________________

__________________
kitch40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitch40 View Post
I am getting ready to start up a new saltwater 105 gallon tank. The setup comes with a fluval Fx5 external filter. Do I still need to set up a sump tank as well? Do I need a protein skimmer as well, I plan on live rock,corals, and just a few fish. Thanks kitch40:
You can start off with just the external filter if you must, but if you want to get into corals as you mentioned, eventually a sump and protein skimmer will be a must have, IMO.
__________________

__________________
180-gallon acrylic mainly SPS, SWC 1A Cone Skimmer, APEX Neptune Controller, 3x MP40w Vortechs, Tunze 6045, Radiums 250w in Lumenarc Minis, Galaxy Ballast, BRS Dosers
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
If you plan on keeping corals an in sump system for a 105 gallon is a must have IMO or you will just cost yourself more money in the long run. Do it right the first time

Get your tank drilled before getting water into it. Go pick your self up a sump tank, 40 gallon is good size for your tank. Get a protein skimmer, vertex are good. Get a return pump, mag 7 should be fine for yours and go from there.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush View Post
Get your tank drilled before getting water into it. Go pick your self up a sump tank, 40 gallon is good size for your tank.
I agree. You won't need a protein skimmer right away. Get your tank up and running for a few months and then look into skimmers before you plan on getting corals.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Yes you can take your time and save up for the sump system. For now all you need is LR (100lbs, not even) a few power heads and basic lighting. Once you have cycled put some cleaner crew in there. You can keep fish and LR for now. Just make sure you drill the tank before setting it up or you will run into trouble once you add your sump :P
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 12:44 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Although very nice, reef ready/pre drilled is not the only option to have a sump. On my first tank I had an eshopps overflow which worked fine to get the water from the non-drilled tank into the sump.
__________________
180-gallon acrylic mainly SPS, SWC 1A Cone Skimmer, APEX Neptune Controller, 3x MP40w Vortechs, Tunze 6045, Radiums 250w in Lumenarc Minis, Galaxy Ballast, BRS Dosers
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 12:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Yup that works too. But the cost of $40 to drill a hole (as long as its not tempered on the back, shouldnt be) is well worth it IMO. I only have the one hole drilled in mine for the overflowbox. My return line comes over the top of my aquarium, but still looks good.
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protein Skimmer or Surface Skimmer superboy114 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-16-2010 10:24 PM
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.