Protein Skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hdcollins1276

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey, so I'm getting ready to start my first saltwater tank and I was wondering what is the actual purpose of a protein skimmer. How important are they?

They get rid of all the waste that the fish make. Also keeps you from doing pwc all the time. I just started my tank and I still don't have one. I've had it about a month now. Plus I'm no expert, just going off what I've read here and LFS. IMO, if you can wait, then u should.

Hdcollins1276 said:
Hey, so I'm getting ready to start my first saltwater tank and I was wondering what is the actual purpose of a protein skimmer. How important are they?

Ahhhhh.................. the protein skimmer, it's Basically the heart of your systems filtration ;-) you should get one thats rated double of your tank.

Depending on how big of a tank you have, fish bioload, feeding habits and water change frequency you can sometimes go without a skimmer. i run a 29g cube that has no skimmer. My 125g is running a sump so the skimmer is in there. My 55g has a hob skimmer. :)

I do weekly water changes of at least 10-15% and my nitrates are either 5 or less, some tanks they run 0. :)

The skimmer will skim out excess organics and nutrients from your water.

hope that was helpful