Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2010, 03:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
PS in sump or HOB

okay so im setting up a 55 gallon reef. i was thinking about doing a sump with refuge for some macro algae and have the protein skimmer in there. well i was thinking could i get a hob protein skimmer and a hob refuge? if so where can i buy a hob refuge?
__________________

__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 03:37 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Refugium, Aquarium Refugiums & refugium Light Fixtures - Miracle Mud

refugium | Marine Depot


I've seen a lot of HOB fuges around and none of them are all that cheap. I'd say you're better off using a sump.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well i was looking at a stand at petsmart and it wouldnt have room for a 20 long sump like i was planning. i could maybe throw a ten gallon in there but id just be a refuge and couldnt house the PS and also the sump would about be the same price as the HOB refuge after buying the tank dividers and pvc and pump. the pump im looking at is 100 its self so thats why i maybe thought about hob.
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
in my 2g nano i have a hob filter with macro and filter floss and my nitrates are at 0. i wonder if i could do that with this tank..
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:13 PM   #5
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
I'm sure you could do it with the 55G tank.. it would probably just be harder since you have to account for 53 more gallons lol.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:26 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
I say skip the refugium and focus more on a decent sized sump and a good protein skimmer. Many of the newer reef setups do not have refugiums.
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
haha yeah.. i cant really decide on which to do.. ive thought about gettin a marineland penguin biowheel 350 and putting the macro in there with a light over top. im thinking the 350 gph would work with that i could probably do smaller. cause my powerheads are going to be two 180 tamm rio plus's (only 120 gph dunno why its called 180 lol) and 2 hydor koralia 2s (680 gph) for a total of 1600 gph movement 29x since itll be full reef with fish
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
but the refuge would keep nitrAtes down which would help coral right?
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:42 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostnemo View Post
but the refuge would keep nitrAtes down which would help coral right?
So will a good protein skimmer and being good about doing your patial water changes. You honestly don't need it. Look at some of the SPS coral (hardest coral to keep alive and colored up) in my tank from my build thread.
__________________
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:50 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well then ill go with just a PS and go ahead and by the RO/DI unit instead of hauling 20 gallons at a time back and forth lol.. now with the PS i shouldnt run it during the cycle right?
__________________

__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hob, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switching from HOB to sump joy13 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-11-2009 10:00 AM
HOB/Sump Balancing Act StrongBad DIY Projects 2 09-12-2006 08:36 PM
Sump vs. HOB LittleParr Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-21-2005 04:19 PM
hob filter on a sump? guitarded Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-15-2004 11:27 AM
HOB skimmer with sump? saberry Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 08-01-2004 10:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.