puffer, eel, and what?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

unicorn2tears

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've never done a salt water tank before, just fresh water, but my charming significant other really wants one. He's been doing plenty of research so I'm leaving most of the details of setting it up to him, but since it's going to take up space in our house, we're trying to compromise on the inhabitants.

We've decided on a 55 gal set up with a valentini puffer and a snowflake eel. We know they aren't reef safe. What else would work with these two?

With an eel that can get 24 inches long and a puffer that only reaches 4 inches, I'd be worried it's eventually gonna become a snack for your eel. That being said, you could add maybe one of the dwarf angels to your tank. Just keep size in mind. If it will fit in the eels mouth, pass on it.

Just as a fyi, eventually the eel is gonna push your bioload on the 55 gal tank with other fish. A snowflake eel at 2ft needs at least a 50gal tank itself.

Thank you Fluff for the reply. I know the eel can get big (have a similiar issue with a knife in my main fresh water tank that will eventually reach 2 feet) and we are willing to move it or set up other arrangements when the time comes. We had done a bit of research on valentini puffers and snowflake eels and everything we read said that they were compatible. If they actually aren't, then the puffer is really the one out of the two we would rather get. So I guess, if not the eel, then what else works with a valentini puffer in a 55 gal?

I would stay away from the eel. They look great, but it'll be very hard with the bioload like fluff said.