Pump Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Doug01

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok....

First of all I am VERY new to this saltwater tank thing. I just bought the tank, fully setup, from somebody that had to get rid of it. After setting the tank up I am having a problem getting the water flowing over the back of the tank into the back filter thing. From what I have seen it looks like a skimmer system. The water will move out of the tube connected to the pump, but I cannot get the water to move out of the tank and though the two tube that is in the little skimmer bucket thing that is connected to the tank. The two tubes do not actually hook to anything but when I dis-assembled the system to transport it, the tubes were flowing water I thought. At this point the water and everything is doing great and all readings are good. The only thing I need to get going now is to figure out how to get the water moving. I am attaching diagrams to show what I'm talking about. I can't get a picture of the back since it is by a wall. I'm trying to at least attach the pictures...it isn't working to well....