Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 25
Pump Recommendations needed

I need to replace the pump in my 75 gallon tank. The one I have is old and very noisy. I am wondering what pumps you guys recommend. I need advice on size, and I would like something quiet and halfway affordable... any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Notafan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,170
I have a pentair quietone 4000 on my 75 it is quite and very reliable
__________________

__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
The big question is how much can your overflow handle?
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
You want about 5-10x turnover from you sump (as long as your overflow can handle it) AFTER head loss.

I use a Danner Mag Drive and it works great. Quiet & efficient.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 25
The overflow is rated for 125 gallons...
__________________
Notafan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Are you sure? That would be like 1/4" pipe. Is it drilled or an HOB overflow?
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 25
Hmmm... i see what you are saying. well its a HOB overflow, it came with my sump, which is rated for up to a 125 gallon tank. I think my overflow is rated for 600 GPH. The hose is 1". Does that make more sense?
__________________
Notafan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Oh... Ok. I thought you meant 125gph. With a 600gph overflow, I'd probably shoot for 400-500 gph after head loss. How high is the top of the tank? I'd guess, without knowing exact head height, that a mag 9 would be a good choice. I am really pleased with my mag 7 on my 40b.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 25
the tank is 48" high
__________________
Notafan21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:03 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Next question, do you use media reactor(s)? If so, you can size up the pump a few notches, tee off the return line to the reactor and use a ball valve to regulate flow into the tank.

This cuts down an extra pump & allows for pressure from the ball valve to flow through the loop. Win win as they say.
__________________

__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air pump recommendation M Riley Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 01-20-2012 03:07 PM
Return Pump: In or Out of Sump? mrbee2828 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-05-2012 05:34 PM
Return pump ? ShooterRick General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-10-2011 08:07 PM
return pump head pressure question Gunk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 47 09-16-2011 02:47 PM
Pump upgrade help! Cliffz Nano Reefs 0 08-23-2011 10:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.