Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2006, 04:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
punp as a powerhead?

could you use a pump like the type you would use as a return on a overflow as a powerhead to circulate water around your tank?
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Sure! There is nothing wrong with using it as a water flow source. You might not be able to "point" it like you could a powerhead and it may take up more room than a powerhead but its job would still be same.

Is it a large pump? You may just be better of getting a powerhead anyway. That way you won't have to worry about placement and concealing a large pump.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
You could. I used a mag12 like that before when I was doing a pump replacement. I put a "Y" on the output with locline and directed the current that way. Not sure why you would want to permanently. They are usually much larger than a PH.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
well i'm trying to find ways of getting water movement in this aquarium cost effectively heh its 6 feet long and 30' tall so i thought maybe that would work i'm open to other ideas
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
You could run a closed loop system and then "T-out" the connections from the pump. That way you would have several returns all from the same pump. Although you will need more than one pump for a tank that size. You could use your one pump and then put in some powerheads.

I'd use powerheads if I were you. Not sure how much of a factor cost is, but powerheads are pretty cheap and they move a lot of water....
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
what site has an aquarium size calculator on it?
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 51
reefcentral has one.
__________________
reeling reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Here you go

http://www.fantasyreef.com/flash/calculator.html
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
biggen thanks alot
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 05:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Hey, thats what we are here for.

__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To powerhead or not to powerhead...that is the question. STARFYRE Nano Reefs 14 01-01-2007 05:43 PM
powerhead? Brian Vartanian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-29-2005 01:34 PM
do i need a powerhead? pennybabe01 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-10-2004 04:08 PM
do i need a powerhead? guitarded Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-08-2004 07:23 PM
Powerhead Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 09-03-2004 12:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.