Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-21-2004, 02:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
QT Ammonia Control: Water change or AmQuel?

I have a 10g qt that I'm using for two false perc clownfish. They have been there for just shy of one week, ammonia is now up to 0.5 ppm. I feed once a day, they always seem hungry but they don't always catch all of the food, so I suck up remaining food on the floor nightly, at least as much as I can. I seeded a sponge filter from my main tank for 3 days or so before I introduced these fish, maybe that wasn't enough, or ammonia would have been higher without the sponge.

After testing ammonia yesterday, and finding it up to .5ppm, I did a 1g water change last night. Then I read some newsgroup forums. Some say do water changes daily, some say use chemicals such as AmQuel to control ammonia. Are both methods OK? What can ammonia go up to before I must do a water change?
__________________

__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i would change the water nightly using the main tank water and add new water to the display
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 04:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
How much water nightly? And just until the display tank water manages to bring down ammonia in the qt?
__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 06:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
mabe 5 gallons what i would do just cause it be easy for me due to the collection of corallife salt buckets/along with the t-shirts i have now hehehe
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 07:27 PM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would not suggest using water from the main tank. The ammonia is being fueled by wastes and nutrient. Using water from the main tank will contribute nutrient from there. Best off using well aged SW from newly mixed RO water. You cannot reduce the ammonia is you add nutrient each time.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 07:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
what if the main tanks water lest out great?? i think it be better and get the fish to the water they will be in, in a few weeks
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 08:54 PM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba_steve
what if the main tanks water lest out great??
The filtration systems of the two set ups are usually significantly different. The DOC is the begining and the nitrates are almost the end. Alot happens in between. Adding nutrient rich water even from a healthy biosystem will still add DOC.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 10:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
So geez, if I swap out 5 gal that is half of the water! And do that every day? Boy that seems like a lot of work..what have I gotten myself into?? Saltwater!!

So the idea of just using AmQuell or something like that is a bad one?
__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 03:23 AM   #9
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckycat
So the idea of just using AmQuell or something like that is a bad one?
The water changes is the better plan. The problem with water conditioners that bind free ammonia is they do not work with most test kits and give a false reading. I know Seachems will read past the Amquel but not many others will.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 10:41 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
OK, thanks!
__________________

__________________
90g BB, basement sump/fuge; CSS 125; Tang, Clown, misc snails, peppermint shrimp, other smaller critters
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, amquel, change, control, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Change Frequency / Ammonia Levels in New Tank - INPUT REQUESTED Twoapennything Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 01-24-2010 11:27 AM
Amquel+ Smells? Eliminating ammonia from tap water Scoot Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-21-2006 02:24 PM
75 gal water change then ammonia ashobson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-26-2005 05:53 PM
Ammonia spike after large water change mjvincent Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 03-20-2005 05:08 PM
Will Amquel change Nitrite test? jsoong Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 08-30-2003 01:31 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.