Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-13-2007, 10:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
QT Failure - Help

I set up a QT tank a few months ago for my 130 gal tank. I have a 10 gal tank and bought a "Biowheel" type filter rated for the 10 Gal tank. I ran the filter off of my sump for four or five weeks then filled my QT tank up with water from my main tank (the main had properly cycled). I put the filter on my QT tank, got a heater and put some pvc elbows in the bottom. All levels tested ok. I bought three small chromis and put them into the QT tank. After a week or so, the ammonia shot up and I had lost one of the chromis. I had to get the other 2 out of the tank and put them in the main.

Are three chromis too much for a 10 gal QT tank? I ws careful not to over feed them. If it is too many, would you have to get a larger QT tank or get 1 at a time. I just lost another chromis in my main tank tonight after it had been in there for approximately a month. I now have 2 chromis 1 goby and 1 skunk cleaner (snails and hermits also). The tank levels tested fine and everything else looks great.

I want to QT because I know its the right thing to do, but I lost 2 fish because of it (although I know I was the one who screwed it up somehow). I still want to add a yellow tang, 2 true percs and maybe a 6 line to the tank. I want to QT them but now I'm worried I'm gonna kill em! I would QT the tang and the 6 line alone obviously but could the 2 clowns go in a 10 gal?

Please, what did I do wrong and how can I fix it. The qt tank has since been sitting with water in it for the last month...nothing on. I have to clean it and start all over. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:47 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
What are your water parameters in the QT. You said you have water in it for a month . Have you done any PWC`s?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Once I took the fish out, I turned everything off and let it sit there. The QT tank has water in it but nothing is running. Was the biowheel sufficient for filtration? Should I have put some food in the QT tank to "cycle" it? I have heard that mentioned before. What are some of the other filtration techniques for a QT?
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 11:03 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If it was just sitting there then it probably does not have much aeration. It needs to have a PH pointed to the surface to create proper aeration. If you need it now then you dont have time to cycle it. You`ll need to monitor and do PWC`s to keep it where they will be OK. In the future it would be good to keep it running and have it ready when you need it.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 11:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Yea, I just turned it off and left it when the ammonia spiked and I took the fish out. My question is what did I do wrong to cause an ammonia spike? Was it because there were too many fish or some other reason. Is a biowheel sufficient to use on a 10 gal QT tank. My main water parameters seem to be ok.

This is what happened, Bought 3 chromis and QT'd them. 1 died in the QT so I put the other 2 in the main. A week later I purchased 3 more Chromis and put them in the main (I did not QT because of the problem I had with ammonia). I lost 1 shortly after adding the 3 additional ones to the tank. I lost 1 tonight and I just saw the other one and he he does not look like he is doing well. The one with the sore on its side is chasing him around and nipping at him. He is the only one that is actively swimming around and looks good besides the sore on his side. What they heck is going on?

I just tested ammonia and its 0, PH is at 8.0 and Nitrite is at <0.3 (its a Tetra kit) ... I have one Chromis with a sore on its side and it is swimming around like nothings wrong. My goby appears fine and so does the skunk shrimp and the other inverts. The chromis have been in the main for about a month. Could I be in danger of losing the Goby???
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 11:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Re: QT Failure - Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by two11devan
I put the filter on my QT tank, got a heater and put some pvc elbows in the bottom. All levels tested ok. I bought three small chromis and put them into the QT tank.
All levels would test OK because there was nothing in the tank to create any waste to start with! Technically, if your biowheel was seeded as you'd intended, then you shouldn't need to cycle the QT before adding fish. It should be good to go. However, you added 3 fish and I *think* that maybe it was just too much for the biowheel to handle? That's the only thing I can think of. Maybe the bacterial colony on the biowheel just wasn't enough for 3 fish and you ended up with a mini cycle.

It sound like you're just starting to stock the 130 gallon, so I'd just go ahead and actually cycle the QT (watch for ammonia, then nitrites, then finally nitrates) and leave it running during the time you're adding stock.

Technically, what you did should've been OK - but since you detected ammonia something went amiss there somewhere. I've got a biowheel on my 10g QT and once properly cycled, it'll take care of the ammonia.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 12:48 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
two11devan
I feel your pain. I have not had good luck with QT either. Heres my take as I have a 30 gallon QT with 2 biowheels, (both seeded in my sump for THREE months), water from the QT is from my main, and a small baggie of LS from a friend of mines tank. I STILL have ammonia even after all of this AND putting a large raw shrimp in there to rot. It stayed in there, ammonia shot up after 5-6 days, so I took it out and watched the levels fall.
SO with all of this being said, I dont know that a single biowheel can be trusted. I was told with certainty that my 2 biowheels would be more than enough for 1 fish...well guess not. I even have put 2 peices of LR from my sump in the QT and am still having issues. ALthough its only .3, its still there. I let my QT run for 7 weeks with the above mentioned and also fed it. I said all of that to say, I would get a larger QT tank, less fish per shot, and also throw a large shrimp in the tank to spike the ammonia next time. In this hobby if your not patient and slow, then its a lot of trouble for sure!
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Just lost another Chromis this morning. I am down to one and its the one with a sore or something on its side (I'll try to get a pic). Im not sure if its an infection. Whats killing my chromis? My watchman goby looks healthy and my levels are all at zero. I am planning on doing a 15 gal water change this morning but I have no idea why the chromis dropped dead without any signs of illness. The only one that is still alive was the "bully" of all of them but I highly doubt he killed the other two (or could I be wrong?). I have lost 4 Chromis since I started this tank! The first three I would think died because of the ammonia spike in the QT. I have no clue why these last 2 died! Water seems great and they had been eating fine. They were in the tank for approximately a month. Any ideas on what could be going on?
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 05:17 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
How are you acclimating them?
Are they fresh from shipping to your LFE? Could be they were recently shipped and still stressed.
How long did it take for the ammonia spike, in your QT? I'm not sure if 3 in a 10G is good or not...Hopefully some one else can tell us.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 05:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Idaho
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to Andari
I think I read that fish get Ammonia burn if the Ammonia was the reason they died.
Did the ones you lost during the High Ammonia levels show any discoloration or have a whitish film on their bodies??
__________________

__________________
Andari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colossal failure! Help! carebear73 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 09-18-2009 02:49 PM
oh no, skimmer failure!!! HappyHooligan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-18-2009 10:55 AM
Lighting Failure t3hRobG General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 05-02-2008 02:29 PM
PLEASE HELP- Heater failure sarah5775 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 01-24-2008 10:33 PM
Power Failure got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-20-2005 06:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.