Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2007, 12:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
QT tank question - Bacteria

I have had a QT tank set up now with fish in and out of it for about 5 months. I accidently fed to much the other day (with 2 fish in the 30 gallon QT Tank). I put way to much food in it and now its got like .1 ammonia. I have had no issues with it until this point.

My question is I am putting small peices of rubble rock from my main into the QT tank. Will do this do the trick in aiding the ammonia issue?

Also I have had copper in the QT one time previously. It was some 3 years ago. (Cupramine). Can I boil the rubble rocks in hot water and then use them in my main again?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:37 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
A water change might help a lot to to bring the ammonia down. What kind of filtration are you running on it?

I'm unsure about the copper part, sorry.
__________________

__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:03 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Per drsfosterandsmith:
"Safe for filter bed and can easily be removed with chemical filtration."
You might be able to use Fluval Lab Series Opti-Carb but I would also buy a copper test to make sure. I doubt boiling in water would remove the copper. You can also run some Purigen to help with ammonia, along with regular PWCs.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 11:45 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
You probably are not adding enough rubble rock to help very much. I would go with a 20% PWC and maybe even do 2/day if the ammonia doesn't come down immediatley.

I would not put the rock back in the main tank unless it was tested first.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 04:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Re: QT tank question - Bacteria

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman
My question is I am putting small peices of rubble rock from my main into the QT tank. Will do this do the trick in aiding the ammonia issue?
It can't hurt, but it won't immediately help you with the ammonia. I dealt with this about 3 weeks ago when I overloaded my QT with new residents. It took 9 days or so for the bacteria to "catch up", but all during that time I did 50% water changes daily to keep the ammonia levels down. After 9 days, everything balanced back out again and the new residents are happy campers. Like others have mentioned, I'd keep a good supply of salt water handy and do daily water changes until things get back in balance.

Quote:
Also I have had copper in the QT one time previously. It was some 3 years ago. (Cupramine). Can I boil the rubble rocks in hot water and then use them in my main again?
While I've never dealt with copper issues, boiling the rocks will do nothing except kill off the bacteria and anything living. All contaminants will remain.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 11:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Good news to report is my ammonia never got above .1 and tonight its back to normal. I did a 5 gallon water change for the past 3 nights and finally its back to normal. I just overfed that one night...will have to be more careful.
Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Upgrade Bacteria Question greenfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-16-2007 09:47 AM
How do I preserve bacteria in a tank move? / Filter question Vmax911 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 09-19-2006 03:22 AM
Anaerobic bacteria question Sicklid Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-01-2006 07:40 PM
question about beneficial bacteria Gordinho80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-18-2005 08:10 PM
bacteria question booker Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-22-2004 02:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.