Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 06-09-2004, 09:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
#@*#@ QT TANKS!!!! arg!!

Ok guys....I have taken the advice of the forum and got a 20 long QT tank. I have have it up for about 4 weeks and seeded it with a spounge form my main tank. Also I had some extra LR so I threw it in there as well. However the tank over time now has debris from the LR and brown algea in it. I guess this is ok? It just looks bad and to think Im going to throw a fish in there for 4-6 weeks? All of the levels seem to be ok and holding except for the PH. I had it around 8.2 when I started it and it dropped to around 7.8. I now have it back to around 8.2 to 8.4. Once I put a fish or 2 in there, this is going to be nutes trying to keep all of the levels right isnt it? Being that it is a small tank? Any advice? I really want to protect my main tank but Im wondering if I will end up killing fish before they even get to the main tank....

fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 09:49 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
BillyZ's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
It's usually too much work to keep a QT tank running all the time. Most folks will simply prepare a QT tank just prior to purchasing new livestock. Keep the spong you plan on using for the QT in your display tank (sump or wherever in your system it can stay out of sight and still get water flow) and then use water from your display tank to fill the QT and put the sponge in the HOB (or whatever filter your using for the QT). Leave the QT up for a day or two then get your fish. It's getting rough and nasty now because it's been 4 weeks, which is about how long you'll have new fish in there. Keeping your levels in the QT stable can be as easy as weekly 1-2 gallon water changes. Remove 1 gallon of water from your QT tank. Replace that with 1 gallon of water from your display tank and add 1 gallon of new SW to your display tank.l

hope that helps a little.

Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 10:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Atari's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
The problem with setting everything up 4 weeks in advance is that all the beneficial bacteria that were on the sponge and rock will have diminished by now since there's no livestock producing waste to feed them.

And you'd be better off replacing the LR with some inert materials like PVC or something just incase you need to treat with meds once you get fish in there. It's just for hiding places since no bacteria will survive the meds.

Like Billy said, frequent water changes will keep everything in check.
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.

Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
revhtree's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
When dealing with certain desiese's (ich, velvet,etc...) it becomes a whole different ball game when dealing with the qt. I am treating with cupramine a 20g tank, and a 5 gallon a day water change, still isnt enough. I have 4 fish in. 1 big, 3 small. I am not over feeding, and the trite, and ammonia levels are driving me crazy...... 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O

Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I guess Im just paranoid about the tank looking bad...its got brown algea growing in it and looks bad...but the levels are good so far.
I think I will get some fish for it this weekend and just go for it. And yes I hope that I dont have to use it as a QT tanks per say. This tank is to introduce new fish to my main tank.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated..
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARG fishless cycle! fishymctasty Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 10-01-2008 02:12 AM
Arg! Agnate80700 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-17-2007 02:48 PM
ARG, SOme kind of grey furry algae? thetmaxx Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 09-13-2005 12:06 PM
Via Aqu Pumps!! ARG! fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-08-2005 04:05 PM
arg... took a friend's fish, brought home more than that rubysoho Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 19 03-24-2005 10:11 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.